Caprese Salad

in #food6 years ago

619A0677.jpg

Finally a recipe . . . sorta


Now that I got to go grocery shopping and actually have the things and the means to cook, I present you this caprese salad, which is your basic salad minus the balsamic vinegar. Since I am not a big fan of it, I decided to skip it. However I plan on making it again here in a few days and what I am going to do, I will cook what they call a balsamic reduction, which is balsamic vinegar and honey simmered down or reduced if you please. I think that would be way way better than simple vinegar.

Ingredients:

  • EVOO;
  • baby heirloom tomatoes;
  • fresh mozzarella cheese;
  • salt and pepper to taste;
  • fresh basil leaves.

619A0653.jpg

Directions:

Wash and cut your tomatoes, assemble the ingredients on a plate. Drizzle a desired amount of extra virgin olive oil on top, sprinkle some salt and freshly cracked black pepper or pepper medley. Enjoy!

619A0681.jpg
619A0679.jpg

For this photo shoot my goal was to try and take high key pictures which I never do, I do not think I succeeded, gotta work on my lighting a bit more, maybe even try using a flash. But that's off topic, just random thoughts popping in, I guess. Really don't wanna start using a flash haha.

619A0696.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF - 40mm - F/2.8 lens.


Sort:  

It's not at all uncommon for me to cook something purely because it gives me an excuse to use and consume mozzarella.

I don't know if God exists, but if he does, he's most likely a piece of mozzarella cheese.

Hahaha that's a pretty awesome description of it, I love fresh mozzarella too. My favorite way to eat it though is with some honey, toasted pine nuts and a glass of wine! Mhmm! :D

I don't love (cold/unprocessed) tomatoes that much, but you make them look YUMMEE - that picture with all the drops on all the coloured tomatoes is my favourite :-)

(Don't use flash :P Maybe work with a reflector to get even more light in the pictures if you weren't already doing that.)

You're missing out! I love fresh tomatoes, a pinch of salt and you have a delicious snack haha, could be just me though :D

Yeah, I usually just shoot with natural light, but I saw some pictures online that were taken with flash and some of them look really really nice too (after editing, of course), just something to play around with, I guess haha

The balsamic reduction sounds like a great idea. The colour of those tomatoes is delightful, and basil, tomato and any kind of cheese, with salt and pepper is the ultimate. Yum!

Thank you @white.tiger! I need to hurry up and make another salad soon, tomatoes are my favorite!

I love this beautiful caprese salad @kotturinn!And your photos too!!( no flash,pleeease, haha)
I am a big fan of mozzarella cheese!I already bought some for salads, but when I am hungry..I can eat it only with salt and olive oil!

Thank you @loveisintheair! I love mozzarella as well, will have to try it just with oil and salt, usually I just dip it in honey and eat with nuts if I don't feel like cooking haha

Hhaha! I have this feeling the last few days ..I can't cook!
And I will have to try it with your way(honey and nuts), I never did!

It is so good! Just pour you a glass of wine and eat the mozzarella and nuts away! :D

By the way, Tiramisu recipe is coming to the blog in a few days, I will tag you so you get a notification :)

AJ picked your post @kotturinn for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


You can also join The-Kitchen Discord Server for more food experience.

Невероятные фото!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42