Addressing My Current Diet

in #food6 years ago

I will preface this post by saying that I do NOT believe in "diets", but rather "lifestyle changes".

Low carb etc blah blah blah...Those aren't long-term solutions. They only lead to a cycle of self-hate.

That being said, my lifestyle can always use some improvements. For far too long, I got away with just being small. Then, I got away with just counting calories (which is great if you're just trying to lose weight).

CURIOUS WHAT MY DIET LOOKED LIKE RIGHT BEFORE I STARTED COUNTING MACROS? WATCH THIS "WHAT I EAT IN A DAY" VIDEO:

https://d.tube/v/kortney/gow8baui

Now that I am working on building muscle and building the body I find aesthetically-pleasing, I have started counting macros, with a large focus on protein intake.

My diet was generally heavy in fats and carbs, but the reason I didn't gain weight was that I learned how much I should be eating to maintain my weight after a few months spent counting calories with MyFitnessPal.

Yesterday was my first day counting macros, and I have to say, even as a vegan (yes, as a vegan), getting more than enough protein wasn't near as difficult as I thought it would have been. YAY!

Honestly, it seems like it's going to be more difficult to increase my calorie consumption. When I was sedentary, my maintenance calories were 1400.

Now that I am quite active, they're more like 2,112-2,208. I will be working my way up to eating more, but for now, I am definitely more focused on macros.

Do you count macros or calories? If so, let me know any good tips you have or things that have helped you in the comments below!

XOXO, Kortney

to read posts before they're live on Steemit, visit kortneyjameson.com :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31