Cast Iron Tomahawk Ribeye

in #food7 years ago

Hello. This is my first post. I've never posted anything anywhere, so be gentle with me.

Last night, I decided to cook a special dinner for my daughter since she's finishing up her 9th grade year, and kicked ass all throughout. I wen't with a 3 lb. Tomahawk Ribeye. I love cooking steak, as it is one of the easiest and most rewarding things to cook, but I've never had the pleasure of using a Tomahawk steak before. 

I didn't think I would be posting this anywhere, so there's a lack of photos of the process, even though I asked my daughter to take photos just in case I start a cooking blog.

I did the usual salt and pepper seasoning, pre-heated my oven to 500 with the cast iron skillet inside until it was smoking, then brought it up to the stove top where I threw the flame on high, and seared each side for about 90 seconds. After that, it was back into the oven for 2 minutes on each side at 350. Finally I brought it back up to stove top on high heat, but added 4 tbsp of butter and a few sticks of rosemary, which I then used to baste the steak for about 4-5 minutes each side.

The results were pretty good, and this went straight into the top 5 best steaks I've ever thrown down.

I'd like to think my daughter was taking photos of the magnificent beast I had cooked, but I'm sure she was texting friends about how her dad was making her wait to eat so I could take photos of it.

That's it, that's the end of my first post. Sorry the quality of photos isn't the best, I'll try to take better ones with steem in mind next time. If you have any questions, suggestions, or want to talk shit, all comments are welcome!

Sort:  

Hey man this looks amazing, the caramelization on the meat looks top notch!
@fdehoyos10 I got great recipes from Mexican cuisine if you need any, have a great day!

Thanks! I'll have to check out your Mexican Cuisine as well. I'm always trying to expand my recipe book.

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Thanks @goodaytraders, I will try to be active with content, comments, and following. Cheers!

Congratulations @koalakush! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58589.32
ETH 2636.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45