The brita filter hacker strikes again! How to produce your own Natto and save 95%! (Featuring new author @eyeye) STEEMIT EXCLUSIVE !

in #food8 years ago

I have spent my whole life in Japan, after that devastating earthquake, i decided to move to Europe, as i was afraid of the potential radiation.

Life is good in Europe, but the biggest challenge i have in Germany is to get my Japanese food supplies. Everything is expensive, if you buy it in a Japanese Supermarket.

I am a Natto Lover. If you never heard of Natto, it is made of fermented SoyBeans (You either love it, or hate it)

natto1
So in Japan 4 x 40g of Natto will cost less than 1$, but in Germany its 5 Euro (5.5$). As i usually eat Natto for Breakfast and Dinner and sometimes for lunch, that is way to expensive! 

After some research i found out, that it is possible to make my own Natto. 

First i got some 100g Soybeans (Remember that Bomann check my last post:)

natto2

Put the beans into a pan with water and leave them there for half a day
natto3

After that, they will double their size (left before/ right after)
natto4

Cook the beans in a highpressure cooker for 1 hour until the beans will pop through a gently touch
natto5
All tutorials online use  Bacillus subtilis var. natto  which can be bought in Japan. Without that Bacillus, you are not able to produce your own Natto.

After doing some research, i finally found  way to produce my own Natto Bacillus.

I used a Natto Pack i bought in the Supermarket and took 5 pcs of Beans out of that pack.

natto6
So open your pressure cooker, get rid of the water and mix the 5 beans into the hot Soybeans.

An interesting thing about Natto Bacillus is, that it will survive several minutes at 100C. So this method will kill all other Bacteria and only the necessary Natto Bacillus will survive.


natto7
The soybeans have to be filled into a Ziploc after mixing. 

Fill two glass bottles with Hot water and put them into a Polystyrene Box.

natto9
Now the Soybeans have to stay for 24 Hours in the box
and you have to change the hot water every 8 hours, so the optimal temperature doesn't drop below 40-45C. 

natto8

After 24Hours, you will get super tasty Natto Beans and the best thing, you will save 95% !!!


natto10

Using only 100g of Soybeans, i was able to produce 384g Natto. So for 120g of Natto will cost 20Cent instead of 5,5 Euro.


So now, i made some Natto-Makis and prepared some Natto with Soysauce with rice, so you can see how to enjoy your Natto.
natto11
If you liked my 2nd Life-Hack, please keep your Trigger finger ready and give my post some LOVE ;) 

ありがとうございます!= Thank you very much in Japanese !


@eyeye will post the Japanese version to his blog this week, so Japanese readers watch out for that post!

Don't just follow me, follow the author as well, if you like this post ->  @eyeye. Thank you!!!

Sort:  

Mmmm mmmm mmm. Deeeeeeeeelicious! :D Now you made me hungry. Going to find something to eat now haha

yes, this natto beans are really delicious ;) and i think my friend made really good makis ;)

I loooove natto! My friends and family absolutely hate it when I eat it, though, because of the smell. Hahaha. Doesn't stop me though!

You should try and make your own natto. it really tastes awesome!

Hey @knozaki2015 - Found your post on Andrarchists, how'd you go from Japan to Germany (and speaking English)

And what does @eyeye mean?

The author of this post is actually the user @eyeye

@eyeye is my friend, i did the post through my account, so he can get noticed by more people.

oh i guess that makes sense

I have never even heard of natto, but I would love to try it, the Japanese get all the best foods.

yes most people love it or hate it . i love it too! but you have to try a very good natto. i make it with a raw egg and soy sauce. its super tasty.

What is your favorite Japanese food?

there is so many. so i cant pinpoint one thing.
Tempura, Sushi, Ramen, Udon, Soba, Natto, Fish, etc.

I don't quite understand. Do you use the bacteria on the already made natto to grow and spread it onto the soybeans that you have just cooked?

so you use the bacteria from the natto he bought. than he put it onto the soybeans, so the bacteria can spread.

should try natto :D

yes you can go to any sushi restaurant and ask for a natto roll!

Nice i loving sushi, I will share my experience

yes pls post a picture of your natto roll here ;)

natto ? i like japanese food but i need to know more about

Hi, Im Roger Banez
Can you Follow me ?
Thanks

Hello,
i will follow you once you have written more posts ;)
thanks!

yes, natto is very healty and most people like it. it smells a bit strange. so some people hate it ;)

Hmmm this looks yummy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66552.34
ETH 3451.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65