Vanilla custard topped with strawberries

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday, I was asked by my mom to help her prepare 50 portions of custard dessert and I thought I will share the recipe. The initial idea was to make creme brulee but we run out of gas in the torch so except of making the crunchy caramel we placed some blended strawberries on top. 

I hope you will enjoy this recipe!!

Suzanah

Ingredients (makes 5 portions):

  • 400 ml whipping or double cream (30-36% of fat)
  • 100 ml milk
  • 4 yolks
  • 50 g of sugar 
  • vanilla pod
  • strawberries

Steps:

1. Mix milk and cream together and separate about 1/4th of the mixture. To the smaller portion of cream add vanilla seeds and sugar. Then, heat it up on a low heat to dissolve the sugar (make sure not to boil the liquid). When sugar is dissolved, set the mixture aside to cool down.

2.  Separate the yolks from whites and add the remaining cream to the yolks. Then break the yolks slowly with a blender (it is important to make the smallest amount of froth possible).

3. When the cream with sugar cooled down, add it to the yolks and cream mixture. Then run the mixture through the strainer. 

4. Pour the mixture in a heat proof containers (I used glass jars of 110 ml volume).

5. Bake everything in a preheated oven at 95-100 oC for 1h (ready custard should have a jello like consistency). Then let the custard cool down and set in a fridge for couple of hours.

6. When the custard is set, use a blender to make strawberry mousse and place a spoon of it in top of the custard. 

Enjoy!!

Badges courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

Beautiful, just really nice food post. Strawberries are one of my favorites, so I must try this in the future. Please keep these coming!

Thank you so much!! I wish it was summer so I could eat some fresh strawberries...

Well, not to rub it in, but I have fresh berries coming at me from all directions. You can rub it into me in about 6 months.

Super jealous!!! But I hope you enjoy them now as much as I will in couple of months :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99