Rhubarb Cake

in #food7 years ago (edited)

It is Rhubarb season!! I love this plant raw sprinkled with a bit of sugar and baked in a cake. It simply taste good no matter how it is prepared. It always reminds me of spring time at my grandma’s house and running in the garden together with my cousins. After a day spend outdoors my grandma used to give us a huge piece of rhubarb cake and a rhubarb compote to drink. So yeah year where this plant spreads its leaves I can’t wait to eat it!!  

Today I want to share with you a rhubarb cake recipe. I hope you will like it as much as I do. 

Cheers !!

Suzanah       

Ingredients: 

Rhubarb 

  • 3 cups of flour ¾ + ¾ cup of sugar (for the dough + for the marshmallow topping) 
  • 1 tsp of vanilla sugar 
  • 250 g of butter 
  • 6 eggs 
  • 3 tbsp of natural yogurt (or sour cream) 
  • 1 tsp of baking powder 
  • 2 tbsp of fruit pudding powder (or 2tbsp of potato starch)

Recipe: 

1. Sift flour and baking powder. Then add butter, egg yolks, yogurt, ¾ cup pf sugar and vanilla sugar. Combine everything together. Form a ball and place it in the fridge for 1 hour. 

2. Peel the rhubarb, cut it in about 2 cm pieces and coat with a table spoon of sugar. Then let it aside. 

3. Beat the eggs, then slowly mix in ¾ cup of sugar and then add fruit pudding powder and mix well. 

4. Then take the dough out of the fridge divide it so that 1/5th is left and spread the bigger part on a baking dish. Spread rhubarb pieces as dense as you want, then cover everything with the marshmallow mousse and throw pieces of remining dough on top of the mousse. Bake everything in a preheated oven at 180oC for 50-55 minutes.   

Enjoy!! 

Suzanah  

Sort:  

It looks delicious! I've never cooked/baked with rhubarb before. Maybe I'll try it one day :-)

Thank you!! Cooking with rhubarb is is definitely worth trying. You can basically treat it like berries, so make jelly, compote, muffins, cakes etc. Highly recommend!!

That looks wonderful! Rhubarb cake is one of my favourites... reminds me of visiting my aunt's house when I was a kid in Denmark.

I know what you mean!! It is a number 1 cake baked in my house before strawberries season starts :)

I have never tried Rhubarb. Looks amazing though!

Thank you!! If you like sour fruits then rhubarb is definitely worth trying!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64349.87
ETH 2775.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65