Meal Prep Diaries #1

in #food7 years ago

I've been on the meal prep train now for a few months and it has been life changing! Seriously though, give it a try if you haven't yet or if you're interested in making homemade cooking easier. It's so much cheaper, and I can always plan on healthier meals and snacks for my work week. It's a money saver and ultimately, a time saver. Win win situation I'd say:)

I want to start a series of posts that helps people with their meal planning. I'm no expert, but I'd like to share some of the tips I've learned/ideas I've had.

The first meal planning tip I have is to base the meals around a few key ingredients instead of a recipe. It's easier to be creative with the food that way and ensures that you won't be eating the same meal five days in a row. Nothing wrong with that, but I personally like a bit of variety if I can add it.

Last week, I bought so many sweet potatoes..basically enough to feed a small army. I also bought way a large bundle of spinach, some tofu, and some other veggies.

Here are three ways I used up these ingredients:

  1. Buddha Bowl
    Super basic yet super yummy. A great way to get in all your nutrients in a single bowl. There are plenty of variations, but this one has spinach, sweet potatoes, some scrambled eggy tofu (if that can be a thing?) brown rice, and chili sauce on top. I had this for lunch and two other meals during the week.
    Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 6.58.22 PM.png

2 .Hearty Sweet Potato Pizza
I whipped up some garlic herb flatbreads with some ingredients that I already had in the cupboard. This pizza was for dinner so I just made one of the flatbreads a little heartier than the others so it was more similar to a pizza crust. So yummy! The sweet potatoes may seem a little strange on a pizza, but maybe it's so normal to me because Koreans add them so often to pizza. Korean pizza should definitely be questioned at times, but I'm all for the sweet potatoes.

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 6.59.57 PM.png

  1. Flatbread Breakfast Pizza
    This one is similar to the first pizza, but it was made on one of the other thin, wrap-like flatbreads. It was definitely more suitable for breakfast this way (even though I'm totally game for eating pizza for breakfast). This recipe had the spinach, sweet potatoes, scrambled eggy tofu, and some parmesan cheese. And of course, the chili sauce. I will make a post about it soon- I can't get enough of it.

Screen Shot 2017-08-02 at 6.58.35 PM.png

Heck yes to meal prep:) Try it if you haven't and I hope it keeps you somewhat sane during the hectic work week.

Happy eating ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45