[I ate] Schweinshaxe (German pork knuckle) with pickled cabbage and a potato dumpling.steem-bounty.

in #food6 years ago

f48.jpg

I broke my braces while eating the crispy skin of a Schweinshaxe at Kloster Weltenburg.

I improvised, adapted, and overcame. It was delicious and I ate everything but the bone.
Wo ist der Knödel?
Ist dieser kleine Kerl, der mit Zwiebeln bedeckt ist.
Oooh! The Knödel/Schweinshaxe Ratio is a bit off there, but I hope you enjoyed every bite anyway! It looks delicious!
Never heard of this but it sounds delicious.
And a ice water maß
They brought me the water because after the first 3 steins, I had trouble walking to their bathroom and one of the other restaurant patrons tattled on me.
I haz a question about the steins. After mentioning steins of beer to a German a few years back, she looked at me puzzled like ‘what did you say?’. Tl;dr of conversation later, she tells me no German people call it a stein. Stein means, as I’m sure you know, Stone. They do call it a maas and the whole stein thing is likely taken from steinmaas or steinkrug, which are names for big decorative clay or stone or something else heavy vessels.

But you seem immersed in the culture, possibly German yourself, or at least fluent, and you’re using the word stein. So, what’s the deal with your POV?
German here: No, nobody calls it Stein. Everyone calls it a Maß (Mass if you don't know the German letter ß). It is called in English Stein because of the material it is made from, the "Steingut", which would translate to English to stoneware. So, nobody that doesn't happen to know English well enough would understand the term "Stein" for beer. For every normal German, the word "Stein" just means "Stone"
Ah, rotkohl, why hast thou forsaken me.

Aldi actually sells a really good Rotkohl, if you don’t feel like making your own.
Unfortunately, the only Aldi I know out West is in California.
Ugh. Well, that sucks. Sorry, I had no idea.

I've lived 2 miles from probably one of the best German Restaurant in 4 states for nearly 20 years and have only been once. Not because I hate German Food, I love it, but because German Food can be insanely priced and that right there would probably cost me $30-$40.
Am I the only one who feels like there's never enough sauce for the Schwein?

I was 18 and had just moved to Germany and not knowing a lot of German, ordered a schweinshaxe at the zoo in Frankfurt. Because Schwein was pork so what could go wrong??

Was a little dismayed at first only to discover that it is a delicious dish?

Sort:  

A bounty of 0.100 SBD has been set on this post by @kingrefat! You can read how they work here.

This post has received a 0.20 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @kingrefat.

Read my profile if you want me to resteem your blog post to my 33,200+ followers. https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43