Eating Scorpions in Bangkok

in #food7 years ago

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

When traveling in Thailand one must embrace the culture and the food. If you take a walk down Khao San Road in Bangkok you will surely be offered some questionable food which when you're brave and drunk enough you will try.

So often in my life I tend to overthink things but in this instance I followed the Nike slogan, "Just Do It". I was lucky enough to have friends to share this experience with and proud to say I was the only one of the group to finish the entire scorpion with stinger and all. 

To be honest it tasted like shit. It was bitter, very dry, and totally not what I expected. I was expecting a lobster or crab like consistency but it was more like eating eating sand. Although not tasty I enjoyed the experience of taking a chance with some friends and getting outside my comfort zone. 

Taking risks and relying purely instincts is something I feel we lost touch with in society. It's liberating to say "Fuck it" and do what feels right in the moment without thinking of the consequences. If you are reading this I want you to do something today that gives you that feeling. It might end up being bittersweet but you will feel alive!

Sort:  

Oh wow!
So many unique things to eat! Hahha
I miss Thailand!!

Yup there were giant grasshoppers too, more a novelty thing. I don't think the locals even eat it haha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49