vegeterian meatball salad

in #food5 years ago (edited)

IMG_4347.JPG
for today's meal I fried mushrooms, onions, and three of gardein's meatballs, my favorite low-carb vegetarian protein meatballs. It tasted like a burger salad, I then made a salted caramel chia protein drink to add some protein to my daily macros.


vegeterian meatball salad

6:00pm
prep time: 20 minutes.

1397 Calories
124g Fat | 50g Protein | 17.25g netCarb

ingredients

  • 50g of canola oil. (around 3.5 table spoons)

  • 150g of sliced white mushrooms.

  • 115g of a sliced onion. (three quarters of a medium onion)

  • 3 of Gardien meatless meatballs

  • 46g chopped red lettuce. (3-4 leafs)

  • 86g of cubed sharp cheddar.

  • 3 table-spoons of mayonnaise.

  • 8 grams ketchup. (half a tablespoon)

  • 4 grams yellow mustard. (one teaspoon)

  • salt and black pepper to taste.

directions

1- coat an all-clad pan with the canola oil.

this pan is my recommend, and you're free to use whichever pan you have, just be aware that cooking and cleaning times may change. As I found all-clad pans to be non-stick, cook evenly, and are easy to clean.

2- Fry the onions and mushrooms in the oil over medium high heat, stirring occasionally, until browned. Around 5 minutes.
3- Place the three meatballs in the pan and cover, lower to medium to low heat and let simmer for five minutes, meanwhile...
4- place the mayo, ketchup, mustard, lettuce, and cheese on the bottom of a bowl.
5- remove pan from heat and top the bowl with the fried onions, mushrooms, and meatballs.
6- top with salt, pepper, and parmesan cheese.
7- mix and serve warm.

The warmth from the cooked veggies will soften the cheddar cheese to a warm marshmallow texture without melting it into the mixture. The plate looks like a chaotic mixture of ingredients, it is fun to eat and almost contains all my nutrients for the day. I needed more protein, so I prepared a protein drink as follows.


hemp milk protein pudding*

7:00 pm

306 Calories
11g Fat | 39.8g Protein | 3g netCarb

prep time: 5 minutes.

ingredients

  • 1 Scoops of Quest Salted Caramel Protein Powder. (25g)
  • 1 Cup of Unsweetened Hemp Milk . (240g)
  • 15g Black Chia Seeds
  • 1 Tablespoon Swerve
  • 1 Tablespoon Brown Swerve.

mixed everything and leave it in the fridge for 30 minutes so the chia seeds plump up.

*This drink is not ketogenic on its own, however it fits within my keto macros as part of my daily meal.

That was it for today, I hope you get to try this one day and let me know what you think.


previous food journal entry:
Food Journal Day 1

Sort:  

Love me some healthy meatballs! These look awesome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62