oka-san

in #food6 years ago (edited)

back when I lived in Japan, I used to frequent an unassuming grill tucked away in a narrow alleyway in Nagasaki. The diner was operated by a mother who cooked on the grill, while her daughter served the guests at the bar seating. They only served okonomiyaki, with variations in toppings, and it quickly became my favorite Japanese comfort food. oka-san means mother in Japanese, and this dish warms up my heart like the glow of that little grill did after a cold night out on the town.

I started experimenting with a home made version of the dish, and I am happy to share this process with you. This one is fairly easy to prepare; basically toss these ingredients on a cast iron electric grill and mix them around with a fork or chopstick.

Okonomiyaki

ingredients:

  • 95-120 grams of shredded green cabbage
  • 90 grams (6 table spoons) salted butter
  • 170g high fat protein (I used chorizo for this recipe)
  • 1 heaping table spoon of mayonnaise

suggested seasonings

  • salt and pepper to taste
  • one green onion
  • dash of parmesan cheese

IMG_2000.JPG
butter up the grill then toss in the cabbage and the remainder of the butter.


IMG_2001.JPG
use the other side of the grill to grill the meat, as it tends to cook quicker than the vegetables. I bit one of the sausages 'cause they smelled too good.


IMG_2003.JPG
I then used scissors to cut the sausages and mixed in with the sautéed cabbage. cabbage, by the way, is a fantastic ingredient for healing the gut lining of our digestive system.


IMG_2022.JPG
when the cabbage starts looking like that...


IMG_2023.JPG
mix in the mayonnaise.


IMG_2036.JPG
cut up some green onion spears and sprinkle some parmesan on top.


IMG_2039.JPG
suggested serving with a dill pickle and sugar-free cola

KANPAI!

IMG_2042.JPG



about the author

I love food and healthy bodies. I was raised on a diet of sugar and caramel, which made me obsessed with health as I got older and since keto-adapting in March of 2017, I've dedicated my kitchen to ketogenic cooking. please consider supporting my efforts by following, upvoting and resteeming. Say hello in the comments below with any questions or suggestions, and thanks.

Sort:  

It looks so tasty . I am so jealous ! Japan is so amazing country . I hope soon i will visit Tokyo again !

thank you! I agree, I think it's a magical place filled with amazing experiences. When were you in Tokyo?

I too want to visit!

I was in Japan last year in Uruyasu - visited Disneylands ! It was amazing time .... Was in Tokyo only for few moments but i love it and want come back to check it in details. I love Tokyo Bay it is amazing and i really love the views and calm atmosphere in Uruyasu.

I'm jealous!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71