FOODIE Journey: Steeming Hot Dinner with 'Nasi Liwet'

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I'm a foodie & I'm a Malaysian. This combo is really the true DNA of any Malaysians I believe.

When you come here there's always new food to discover. I mean like ALWAYS! And... In Malaysia, you get 'Halal' food easily & every where.

So, the other night my friend Syiera, introduced us to this Indonesian Food restaurant called Cibiuk in Shah Alam after we finished the 2nd part of the Ladies Steemit Bootcamp at the Selangor Digital Creative Center.

Don't ask me what Cibiuk means.... Some sort of Indonesian word that must be positive., hahaha.

Well they have a few options of rice dish, one particular is cooked in cylinder shaped banana leaf-Nasi Liwet.

In Malay language of Malaysia, 'liwat' has a negative meaning, infact vulgar!

But I guess in Indonesian Malay which spelled with an 'e' as in 'liwet', it could mean delicious? Yeah, maybe.

Anyway we loaded up on the 'sambal'. Sambal is a paste made with chillis. You could have sambal 'belachan'. You could have sambal 'tempoyak' where you mix the chilli with fermented durian etc. Then you'll eat this sambal usually with raw vegetables we call ulam.

I ordered Talapia Fish soup to go with my rice because I've never had one..asked the waiter whether the fish has lots of bones, and he said, no since they only use the flesh. Ok, the soup was divine and the fish was fresh and cleaned well.

You know most restaurants sometimes don't know how to wash the fish with lemon or tumeric juice or lime, then the fish ended up smelling fishy.

The rest ordered their famous grilled chicken. The rice is quite a lot. Next time, I told Syiera, we have to share. The rice itself was delicious, though! And we added the fried 'kangkung' too which we don't need to.

All in all, it was a fulfilling meal. If you're in Malaysia do check it out. It's at Vista Alam, Shah Alam. The moment you step into Cibiuk, you'll be transported to Indonesia.

Now, if you're not in Malaysia, what are you waiting for? Come on over!

Sort:  

I love food myself so, you got me... ha...ha..... thank you.. sedapje nampak. I love our local Malaysian food like nasi tumpang besides the Indonesia ayam penyet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60220.70
ETH 2591.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55