How Meal Prep Changes Everything!

in #food7 years ago

woman-2542250_960_720.jpg
I've had a new obsession lately.... Meal Prep! I bought a lot of cute containers with lids so I can store my food in the fridge.
I bought these containers when I had a horrible realization.

  1. If I cook my food in bulk, Put in the fridge. I'll get too busy to eat it, The extra work of scooping it out of a big bowl into a smaller eating bowl was too much for me. (I feel lazy admitting that).

  2. If food isn't' ready to eat when I'm hungry, I'm more likely to order a pizza or go out to eat. And with me trying to lose some weight. That wouldn't be good.

  3. That's one of the reasons I'm obsessed with the meal service Freshly Because they come in serving sizes ready to eat, The food is fantastic. But a bit expensive to order all the time.
    So buying the meal containers are saving me from this.

I Made too much food!

The problem with bulk cooking for yourself, Is it's so easy to make too much food, Or even too little food. Then some get wasted! I noticed with the meal prep containers I was able to make the food and look at how it would fit in my containers.

With this meal, I made steamed broccoli, Pasta with Marinara sauce, chicken, and cheese.
I usually cook way too much pasta, But for once I cooked a bit too little.
I then cooked too little broccoli, But it was easy to quickly steam some more.
It's nice because they are all ready to eat and I don't have to worry about waste.

When you plan things you succeed!

I'm a firm believer with planning things; It allows you to make big changes quickly and effortlessly. I know I always feel short on time, And cooking my meals like this saves me time. I made five meals in about 40 minutes! For those of you who haven't tried meal prepping, If you're addicted to fast food it might be worth the try.
Sure fast food tastes good, But I feel like many of us are just addicted to that convenience rather than the food it self.

Have you tried it? Does it work for you?


U5drBu9TLeqefSZCkckx4hetbgXAhHG_1680x8400.pngU5dsPutnTkgsKTGGvXZgkVLbedrFVim_1680x8400.pngU5du6Tg4LRagCMftytdJokqaJrouYou_1680x8400 (1).pngU5dszFNSZhy2tgQ1W7xAikndfzLTAFv_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I love doing meal preps. Got myself 10 containers like this and am doing it quite regularly. I do put some of them in the freezer If I do too many and it all works quite well. I am working towards being a personal trainer and it is quite important to keep count of my macros so this is pretty helpful for me. Having a balanced meal ready to go at all time. I even bring a box at work with me every day.

Wow the freezer would help too! I didn't think of that.
Good luck with becoming a personal trainer hehee! That would be awesome! Maybe you could get workout videos on daily burn.

Hehe thank you! I think of maybe doing a blog related with it in the near future. :)

Meal preps are super awesome. Especially if you eat vegetarian or vegan, the prep is insane. Now that I have a kitchen again I can't wait to get cooking. Living with a hot plate for 5 months is rough.

I'm all about food prep and making things ahead... we have a large freezer, though, which comes in super handy to avoid waste.

The thing is, it takes very little extra time to cook 12 portions as opposed to 2... and then you can save all that time later.

Wow! I love that! I hope to have a huge freezezr one day haha!
Right? It's so much easier to cook a ton then just a little bit.

But remember, the fresher your food, the healthier.

Meal prepping rocks, but don't you sometimes get a bit bored with the same food 3-4 days in a row?

Kind of, But sometimes I'll make 5 meals of a certain thing, then 5 of something else. Like this time I had the meals above, I also had some Turkey sandwiches with applesauce, So I had a choice. Maybe with this meal prepping i can mix it up even more!

I couldn't agree more. Most of the time I end up eating out is just because it's easier then going to the store and then cooking after a long days work. If I had prepared meals ready to go in the fridge, I'd definitely eat a lot better then I do.

Looks great, my gf does meal prep every Sunday for her lunches for the week. I still find that I'm to lazy to make it happen. I do love the idea though!

PS - I think that last meal of lasagna is feeling a little sad because it got shorted on the marinara front....

We do the same. Not prepping the whole week, but several days. A lot of food is also in the freezer (parts of a meal).
This keeps flexibility during the week. Unplanned things happen too often.

Exactly! And when those unplanned things happen instead of going out to eat, You can save money and reheat leftovers.

wow looks so delicious
and is it your pic so beautiful

Thank you <3

My floor prep has deteriorated from the beautiful meals you display to a less balanced meal rotating every few days. Broccoli today, meat tonight, bread tomorrow... and so it goes. I prepare all of my own food. My way has less waste for me. Keep up the quality while you can.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85