Let's celebrate Māori Language week [Part 2] Kai (FOOD) What is your favorite traditional food or meal?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Food is the bomb right? Especially when it is linked to rich cultures. I wish you could taste for yourself the goodness that is Māori food, so I will share some recipes. I am the least pickiest person I know when it comes to food. I love almost anything, but Māori food is one of my most favorite. it is comfort food, it is delicious, and it is home!!

pikopiko.jpg

Pikopiko

You can expect to see this type of food being served on occasions like Birthdays, funerals, Christmas, Matariki (Māori new year) and whenever we can get our hands on it.

Let's Eat banner.png

black-divider.png

Fry Bread

Crossed between a doughnut & a bread roll.. challenge you to just eat one.

Fry Bread.jpg

Recipe

black-divider.png

Raw Fish

Kai Moana literally means food from the sea. A large part of Māori culture revolves around the sea, including food such as crayfish, kina, mussels & fish. Raw fish isn't 100% raw, the lemon in the recipe "cooks" or cures the fish.

155158.jpg

Recipe

black-divider.png

Hāngi

Meat, vegetables and stuffing cooked underground for a long time. Does not taste like a roast, it has a unique smoked ground cooked taste.

hangi.jpg
How to make Hāngi

maori-dream.png

These are just a few recipes of our food. Do you have any favorite cultural recipes you would like to share?

enjoy.png

Sort:  

That fry bread is making me hungry!

Dude, have you tried it?

I haven't had Maori fry bread. But I've had Bannock and some similar variations from Canada.

Can't beat a good hangi. That steamed earthen taste.

Nothing compares! So good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.86
ETH 2347.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52