Iced Cold Brewed Coffee Recipe + Ice Cube Hack

in #food7 years ago

Iced Cold Brewed Coffee Recipe + Ice Cube Hack

The hot days of summer are just one month away. As if in anticipation of the season change, my insatiable craving for hot coffee vanished, instantly and inexplicably. I went from drinking hot coffee every morning to not even craving it, essentially overnight. My coffee addiction has gone from hot to cold with the weather change and I'm loving it. Hot coffee has its amazing qualities but cold brew coffee is an entirely different animal. It has such a smooth rich taste that is so mellow compared to the bitterness of hot coffee. Where hot coffee tends to be comforting, cold brew coffee is refreshing. It's just so so good. And if you try this recipe, you will be so so addicted. You're welcome.

IMG_8548.jpg

Ingredients for coffee concentrate:

  • 1 C of freshly ground medium roast medium-coarse coffee
  • 4.5 C of cold water(filtered tap water is fine)
  • Milk, cream, flavor syrup, whipped cream, sugar, spice, or whatever your heart deserves.

coffee.jpg

Instructions:

  • In a glass jar or pitcher, combine coffee and water

  • Stir to thoroughly combine then cover and let brew for 12-24 hours**

  • After it brews, filter the coffee using a fine mesh strainer, paper coffee filter, or cheese cloth

  • To serve mix equal portions of coffee concentrate to water(more or less depending on desired strength.

  • Add cream, sugar, flavors, etc, whatever you want to make it special

  • Enjoy!

    *You can brew out of the fridge(like me) or in the fridge
    *Because it needs to brew at least 12 hours, it's a good idea to prepare the night before you want to drink it

IMG_8538.jpg

IMG_8540.jpg

IMG_8547.jpg

Ice Cube Hack:

  • To keep ice cubes from diluting your drink, freeze coffee in ice cube trays for coffee ice cubes!

IMG_8551.jpg

I hope you all enjoyed this recipe. Now, I gotta get back to sipping on my coffee, so until next time!

Peace,

Kawthar

All Content and Photographs are My Own.

Sort:  

Thanks! It really solves the issue of watery iced coffee. ^.^

I will for sure try that out! Looks awesome!

Let me know how it turns out! I love feedback ^.^

What a great idea! (Reminded me of a lemonade concentrate my grandmother used to make, the recipe for which escapes me.)

Yumm! I actually plan to post a lemonade recipe tomorrow if you're interested.

I am. Grandparents ran a restaurant for a few years, and used this concentrate...lots of lemons, tons of sugar... then one tablespoon per glass of water... it was awesome.

Woah that is very concentrated. Sounds very yummy! Nothing like refreshing lemonade in the summer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50