The tic that can turn you into a Vegetarian!

in #food7 years ago (edited)

It’s crazy to think that such thing can exist, but it does and it is spreading! Recently I came across a post that said “what if everyone became a vegetarian?” Within the post it highlighted quite a few positives and negatives….. Mostly positives. So I was wondering if it could actually happened and as I read through a few article I came across this study that highlights a bug that makes you allergic to red meat with just one bite.

I thought wow this is crazy that this bug can specifically cause us to have an Alpha Gal allergy that prevents us from eating ALL RED MEAT! Just one bight from this tic falling from a tree and you would have to avoid:

Beef /Pork
Lamb /Squirrel
Rabbit /Horse
Goat /Venison
Kangaroo /Seal
Whale


cc.jpg
Lone Star tick, Amblyomma americanum. Image by Michael L. Levin, PhD, was obtained from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and is in the public domain.



Within the article they highlight a few labs that are actively researching the Alpha Gal allergy and attempting to find a cure but they seems to be not gaining any progress. Also the lone star tic seems to be expanding and the reports of the allergy are increasing.

veg.jpg
Geographic distribution of Amblyomma americanum. The natural vectors for A americanum are deer (primarily the white-tailed deer) and small animals. The geographic region is believed to be expanding. Image was obtained from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (http://www.CDC.gov/) and is in the public domain.


So I’m left with a moral dilemma that I encourage a discussion to be had about so I leave you with this question:

Should we find a cure to this allergy or let it expand as it is? What are the pros/cons for both sides?

Link to the study that I drew my information from: http://ge.tt/2lzZ0kl2
Delayed red meat allergy: clinical ramifications of galactose-a-1,3-galactose sensitization


If you enjoyed this post please like ✔ reblog ♻ and alt text

Sort:  

this is worry some
i suggest people should have their preferences and choices rather than a bug determining choice preferences
thanks for sharing this info

Probably better to not eat meat anyway according to many reports.

What do you think is the best factor of not eating meet?

If you have access to Netflix watch the documentary called What The Health it is great

ill eat meat every day no bug can stop me i live in the netherlands btw so i hope it doesnt show up there :P

Yeah I understand the feeling, Do you have any alternative view points to your own?

well my wife eats almost no meat so im adjusting slowly to vegetibles (i dont know if i wrote it correctly) i can understand that eating animals can be seen as sad but they taste soo good.

Those Ticks are little vegan activists!!!! They fed on too many trippin hippies!

But for real though, I got bit by that tick! I can only eat fish, chicken, and turkey... I don't think anything else. I break out in an anaphylactic reaction, even snapping turtle made me sick. Beef especially. The fresher healthier more organically fed the sicker it makes me. I been mostly vegan lately, anyways

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69236.16
ETH 3848.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66