How to make delicious GARAPIÑADOS!

in #food8 years ago

Hello guys!!

Today I'm going to show you how to make some delicious GARAPIÑADOS with just a few and common ingredients. For people who doesn't know what I'm talking about, here in Mexico peanuts covered with caramel are called garapiñados, if I'm not wrong they are sugar-coated peanuts in English.
Well, it takes approximately an hour for them to be ready, the ingredients are really simple and all you need is to be patient.

For this snack I just used

  • 2 1/2 cups of peanuts with skin
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1 cinnamon stick

First I toasted the peanuts in a pan over low heat, just for a couple of minutes

I added the sugar, the cinnamon and the water and I moved it a little

I left them in the pan until most of the water evaporated

When there was almost no water, I had to remove the cinnamon stick and kept moving until the garapiñados were ready. It's here when we need to be really patient because there is a point when it seems like a mess, like it is not going to work but it will, little by little. Once the water evaporates completely, keep moving until the sugar melts and becomes caramel. Remember you always have to keep moving otherwise you'll end up with solid caramel in the bottom and most of the peanuts with no caramel at all.

You have to keep moving for approximately 15 to 25 minutes.

Once all the sugar is melted and has covered the peanuts, turn off the fire. We have to let them get cold because if you try them at that moment they are going to be soft and when they are cold they will be crunchy and delicious.

Well, they are ready to enjoy them. I hope you make them, it's a delicious snack!

Follow me if you don't want to loose any recipe

Sort:  

They were delicious @kary !

I was newer try this dish.

Looks great :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51