😞 6 Foods That Can Cause Or Worsen A Depression ! 😕steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

😕 I came across this article when I was reading Active Beat and decided I would share it with my fellow steemians ! You may want to consider avoiding these 6 foods that may be triggers for a Depression or cause a depression especially if its something that runs in the family .

😕 Heres a link to the article with much more information , and where I got these photos
http://www.activebeat.co/diet-nutrition/6-food-ingredients-that-are-a-recipe-for-depression/

😕 (1) Alcohol

You may feel great in the short time while your drinking , but in the long term alcohol is a depressant and a perfect recipe for depression ! ( read above ink )

😕 (2) Caffeine

Although there's a lot of good things about coffee in moderation such as having antioxidants which can lessen a depression , caffeine can be a depressant mainly from a disruption of sleep as sleep quality is very important for regulating your mood ! ( read above link )

😕 (3) Refined Sugars

Yes all those goodies we find on the grocery shelf , from chocolate bars / cookies / Twinkies etc. To those Concentrated fruit juices ! You will love the sugar high for maybe 20 minutes , until your blood sugar drops ! Now your experiencing a "sugar hangover " That's going to lower your mood even more then it all ready was ! ( read above link )

😕 (4) Hydrogenated Oils

This is quite often found in fast foods , and bad for your health in general ! because "hydrogenated oil is a trans fat that can contribute to Depression " While Olive Oil can actually cut your depression by an amazing 30% !! Wow , I better go buy some ! ( read above link )

😕 (5) Sodium

We all know that salt is bad for you and your heart ! And even though a lot of fat free foods may be good for you , they also contain a lot of salt which we don't often realize , then we put even more salt on ! " Excess salt will disrupt your neurological system contributing to Depression." ( Read above link )

😕 (6) Simple Carbohydrates

Yes your favorite pasta ! " Foods that are white (excluding colliflower ) Can intensify depression and anxiety !" as most white food contain simple carbohydrates , ( white bread , white rice , white pasta ) made with processed flour . "These types of foods trigger your body to release to much insulin which regulates your blood sugar , called ( insulin dumping ) . resulting in low blood sugar , mimicking depression and anxiety . ( Read above link )


💙 Heres to your health everyone ! My Mom ( may she rest in peace ...) and brother , both diabetic , totally avoid these foods as much as possible . We all should really ! Hope you guys liked my post , any upvotes , resteems or follows are greatly appreciated ! Thanks for all your support ! Steem on my friends !!💙

💙 THIS POST IS 100% STEEM POWERED UP INTO MY RETIREMENT WALLET ! 💙

DQmRBhpptNijQNS6TPQLofzX9RYj4ehCRaxZqKmL5Mdbp3Q_1680x8400.png DQmQgKyshJQKovD3JAtAfsYJgEfb4QKMfENXC58affbaAqR_1680x8400.jpg U5dte3WqNFkEYFt6bVhQ4PkKcBoBhUm_1680x8400.png

bba6a8eff5.gif

💙 Thanks @elyaque & @merej99 for my badges / @son-of-satire for my banner ! 💙

Sort:  

yes, you should avoid them, thanks for sharing :)

Thanks, post more!

Thanks ! And your welcome im glad you liked it!👍👍👍

Very good article thank you for sharing, I really liked what I saw in your profile success

Thanks a bunch for your kind comments ! Im glad you liked it ! 👍👍👍💙

Depression is a sad phenomenon. Returning to a clean natural diet can help. Electrifying fruits, berries, and melons should help. Through in some herbal botanicals as well. Why? We want to heal those adrenal glands and parathyroid. Get the endocrine gland system utilization going. Clean the GI tract and fill your gut with healthy bacteria. The gut and mind are connected. Don't forget about the colon. My love goes out to all those with depression who need support and guidance. Much love :)

Thank you so much for your great comment ! And I agree the gut and mind truly are connected , and I should follow this and my own advice more often ! At least im trying , baby steps !! LOL! Steem on and stay healthy my friend , much love back !!❤👍👍👍💕

Thanks for sharing this info about depression!
I'm very aware of these foods can 'aggrivate' depression, I've studied it a lot, I have depression myself. But so many people may not be aware of this!
A health balanced diet is always good. Fruit and veg, meats and carbs (in moderation, carbs are good for energy but can turn to sugars/fats if not burnt up).
And I always recommend people to exercise and get the sun on your skin (vitamin D) too. :)

Thanks so much for your great reply ! And yes exercise and natural vitamin D from the sun is bennificial to all ! B12 too !! Steem on my friend !👍👍👍

You're welcome. Was a brilliant post! :)

Awe thanks ! So glad you liked it !!💙✌👍

Chefs like me gotta be more careful!
Thanks for sharing @karenmckersie

Yes I can imagine so !! Thanks for checking out my post @progressivechef ! Im glad you liked it !👍

Great post. Good to see you again. Cheers!!!!

Oh thank you ! Long time no see my friend ! Glad you liked my post , will check out your latest ! 😋😋😋👍👍👍

Great article!!! I tend to suffer from depression so it is nice knowing these things? What does it mean that a post is 100% steem powered into the retirement wallet? Blessings - Troy

Thanks im glad you liked it ! It just means I did 100% steem power up , instead of 50\50 that would half goes into steem power , half goes into steem dollars . You can change this if you want for each post at the bottom right hand corner under your post before you post it ! To me all my steem power is being saved for my hopefully early retirement ! Lol ! Good luck ! 👍👍👍💙

I never thought that these everyday things I consume, can play a part of my depression. Thank you for the time you took to share. Much appreciated @karenmckersie

Your very welcome ! So glad to help ! And thanks for your kind reply @dreamland ! 👍👍👍

This post has received a 2.69 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @karenmckersie.

Thanks for the boost !🚀🚀🚀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60063.85
ETH 2313.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46