You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @allaboutpastries: BREAD MAKING (Part 1) - Lets all Have a Go at 'Starting' a Natural Yeast Starter TOGETHER in 'REAL TIME'!

in #food7 years ago

I would love to take part in this project but I am planning to be away for 4 days next week.....I don't want to neglect my starter so I will start when vacation is over. Thanks for the info!

Sort:  

Absolutely not problem. I will post my results daily and you can catch up when you get back. Just be aware it is damned hot in Spain at the moment. My starter will fly. I might have to fridge it for a while to hold it back! Have a great time away. X

Actually, thinking about it. Begin your starter just before you leave. That way you will have got the longest inactive bit out of the way for when you come back. You would be amazed how indestructible these starters are. I found a pot in the back of my fridge one day and it was a solid skin lump with just a little soft underneath. I scraped that off and added more flour and water. As soon as it began to warm up it flew!. Put yours in the warmest part of the fridge before you go, with a lid on - salad box? It will hold it back until you get home. X Ps.I do clean out my fridge but I thought it was something else. It was in a covered jam jar!

Great idea! I live in Eastern Canada...It never gets very warm here for long; just average temps in the summer (around 25C on the hottest days.) I last tried making a starter in the winter and it didn't do very well. We use wood heat so our house gets too cold overnight for it, I think. Hopefully, summertime will be better for it.

Yes it will. However, do you have an airing cupboard, or an emersion heater? A heated greenhouse would do in winter. Just somewhere that keeps the temp a little warmer than freezing! Your starter will keep working then. The older it is the more forgiving it is, and works faster. A starter used everyday is much more powerful than one that is left for a few days and refreshed for use. This is why commercial bakers produce better bread than the home maker. Their starter is used everyday. Have you bought bread from an Artisan baker on a Monday? It is never as well risen as the rest of the week. They would not have baked bread after Saturday morning. Ovens off and bakery cooled down for over 24 hours, result, less well risen bread - Interesting eh! X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63633.54
ETH 3477.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54