Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity (NCGS)

in #food7 years ago (edited)


Yes, it's a thing.
I discovered quite by accident that I was sensitive to Wheat almost a year ago. I was actually researching diet tips to help with low thyroid levels and hopefully, reduce some of those symptoms (namely: lack of energy and stamina). I stumbled across Dr. Josh Axe's website and learned about Leaky Gut Syndrome. It is believed to be the cause of auto-immune diseases, of which hypothyroidism is one.
I decided to try his on-line quiz to see if I was likely to have this Leaky Gut Syndrome; Dr. Axe has divided the varied symptoms/causes into 5 different sub-types. I can't remember them all, but my "test results" from the quiz showed I likely had the condition and it was primarily due to antibiotic use, according to my answers.
Food allergens are a major cause of Leaky Gut so there was a suggested diet; eliminating common food allergens like gluten, sugar, nuts, eggs and dairy for 6 weeks, gradually adding these foods back into your diet, one at a time to see if you had any reaction to them. I was flabbergasted to find I couldn't tolerate wheat!
So, for the past year, I have been on a huge learning curve to try and replace the foods I used to enjoy with gluten free substitutes....I will be honest, there is no good substitute that I have found so far, to replace wheat bread. I eat gluten free bread only because I would rather not experience the symptoms that almost immediately follow consumption of something with wheat flour in it.....accidentally ingesting wheat is called "glutenized" or "glutened" in the celiac community.
I have experienced so many positive changes this past year; it is not really a sacrifice to eliminate wheat like it was at first. I have lost about 50 pounds (I don't know what I weighed a year ago....I had stopped weighing myself long before, I was so heavy! I just know I am now wearing clothes 4 sizes smaller than last year, and my clothes are loose. Measuring with my belt, I have lost about 8 inches from my waist!) My blood sugar levels went from pre-diabetic levels to normal. I have more energy and endurance, and my foggy head has cleared up. My constant sinus issues are no longer a problem (that was the first symptom to disappear on the elimination diet, so I knew right away, one of those common allergens was the cause.)
I sometimes wish I could taste the cakes I bake and decorate, but luckily, I have some tried and true recipes and I know they taste delicious. I content myself with creating something beautiful to look at, even if I can't eat it. And there are some really good gluten free cake recipes I've found...and some not so good. LOL
For mine and my twin sister's 50th birthday this year, I made a two-tier cake--one small gluten free cake for me and a regular cake for everyone else.
16996143_1275499299204025_8668913685361074594_n.jpg
I love reading and collecting recipes, and now I have a reason for a new collection!
I'm still learning the ins and outs of gluten free flours; there is so much to learn. Good thing I love to learn new things!
Does anyone have any good tips for gluten free substitutions/options?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93