Matching shoes and purse...

in #food7 years ago

I made matching shoes and purse cake a year ago for my twin sister's birthday (yes, it was my birthday too, but I made the cake for her as a surprise).
12711316_10209225685423556_3037310247254448530_o.jpg
The fondant on the purse cake was a homemade recipe I found on line...I am not sharing it because I will never make it again and I would not wish the experience on my worst enemy! lol
It turned out extremely soft, greasy, and had no stretch to it. At. All.
I was pleased with the glossy cake finish in the photo, but the tearing and repairing I had to do to get it to this point was crazy! By the time I had transported the cake to my sister's house, the purse strap had broken in about three places and I just gave up and pushed the ends to the back of the cake. :(
I have since, found a perfect recipe for homemade fondant using mini marshmallows. I will never use anything else again! Delicious flavor and the perfect elasticity for covering cakes of any shape and size.
The shoes are made of modelling chocolate with hand painted leopard print. I used our intials for the label on the inside of the shoe.
At the time, I had been practicing fondant/gumpaste roses, so I added one to the arrangement on the cake board. Some left over fondant was used to drape a "scarf" beside the cake, and I used a ruler and impression mat to give the cake board the look of a wood floor. I used a set of silicon letter stamps to imprint the message on the board before the fondant had time to set hard.
A little pearl luster dust finished off the display.
I have made a second shoe cake, just for a little more practice and to use a new heel mold I bought. I loved the mold and found it so much easier than trying to form two identical heels free hand like I had with the first cake. Here is my second attempt.
16114954_1238121146275174_448024853569631231_n.jpg
The cake was decorated like a hat box this time, just to keep it simple. It is covered in fondant with black modelling chocolate trim. The stiletto is also made of modelling chocolate.
I also got a chance to use my cameo and pearl molds on this one.
I took the cake to my daughter's workplace. The guys there devoured it, although I don't know how much they appreciated the stiletto on the cake. lol

Sort:  

Nice post. I just Followed you. Please follow me.

That's beautiful. Good job. I've only had fondue once. The cake cost us 500 but a leather belt would have been tastier. Though it seems like your recipe was a hit. Thanks for sharing.

That's too bad someone would charge you that much and not even make sure the fondant tasted good! It has a chewy texture that I don't really like, but I try to apply a very thin layer and, if you like marshmallows, at least mine tastes good. ;)

I believe it took about 45 minutes total. One minute a whole cake at reception. 45 minutes later, a chunk of stilletto was all that remained! Haha!

Oh, they did eat the shoe too?! lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67275.57
ETH 3480.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67