Grilled Yardbird & Shrimp Stuffed Mushrooms For a Summertime Meal

in #food7 years ago

IMAG3757.jpg

One of the reasons I wanted to learn how to grill food was so that I could enjoy chicken that had been kissed by fire and caressed by mesquite. Here's how I put together a recent meal that tasted as good as it looks.

You will need:

Chicken cut into pieces ( I prefer thighs) brown sugar, salt, barbeque sauce (Make your own or use store bought, I do some of both).

1 lb. mushrooms with the stems removed

IMAG2288.jpg!

1 lb of shrimp, shelled, deveined and chopped, 1-8 oz. pkg cream cheese, 2-3 oz shredded cheddar cheese, chopped garlic chopped green onion & some paprika.

I always make sure my shrimp come from the Gulf of Mexico:

IMAG2700.jpg

Use the brown sugar & salt to make a brine, your brine should be about 50/50 sweet to salt. Put your yardbird in a ziploc bag or other container and add the brine. Let it soak at least two hours & keep it chilled while you're doing so.

IMAG4310.jpg

While the bird is brining put together your shrimp stuffed mushrooms. Mix the cream cheese, some of the cheddar cheese, garlic, green onions & shrimp together & fill the mushroom caps. When they're full sprinkle on some paprika and top with more cheddar cheese.

IMAG4318.jpg

Get your grill fired up let the fun begin!

IMAG4314.jpg

IMAG4315.jpg

IMAG4320.jpg

Here it all landed on my plate with some rice & black beans & a cold one to chase it all down with:

IMAG4322.jpg

I hope you enjoyed this post. Please comment below, I love talking about food with others almost as much as I enjoy cooking itself, hope to see you on another blog soon. 7-3's! The Kid.

Sort:  

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

love me some southern cuisine.

you do an étouffée?

clearly I wrote this before checking your blog. nm on that one.

I'll probably keep reading before commenting further.

That's OK, THX for stopping by & commenting! Etouffee is one of the first LA dishes I learned how to cook many years ago now & it's still a favorite of mine. I also love southern cooking or as I call it: "down-home" cooking. 7-3's! The Kid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62835.39
ETH 3401.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39