Fresh Louisiana Oysters From the Gulf of Mexico: It Doesn't Get Much Better than This!

in #food7 years ago

Recently I was in Lincoln, Nebraska to visit an old friend of mine & naturally we wanted to do some grilling. We headed to the store and brought back some real treasures.

My buddy Joel grabbed some bacon-wrapped filets & I picked up 16 of these yellow banded oysters from Louisiana:

IMAG4657.jpg

Living in Lower South Dakota as I do we usually only get fresh oysters in the winter months around the holidays so i wish very happy to find these.

We started with sixteen but we had to have a few on the shell before we grilled the rest so ten went on the grill:

IMAG4659.jpg

Here they are just before I pulled 'em, one was being a bit stubborn, lol!:

IMAG4661.jpg

Where are the filets you ask? They were perfect:

IMAG4664.jpg

As far as dessert is concerned, my old friend had that covered:

IMAG4641.jpg

For anyone that doesn't know Herradura is a very good tequila that is as refreshing as a breath of fresh air.

I hope you enjoyed this post. THX for stopping by & I hope to see you again! Please comment below, I enjoy discussing food (and booze) with fellow Steemians. 7-3's! The Kid

Sort:  

Just saw this. You grill them huh? i've only ever had them raw. How long on the grill and how hot?

I tried looking for photos of the coriander pack for the crawfishes. I'm sure I've got one somewhere. Its a zatarains product and they come in yellow and red 4 for $8 packs.

I prefer them raw on the half-shell but everyone else wanted them cooked, c'est la vie, lol! As far as grilling them goes: I open them up reserving the liquid and set them on the grill. I add a little butter and some of the oyster liquor & watch for 'em to cook. not very exact I know, but it works. 7-3's! The Kid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62835.39
ETH 3401.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39