For Perfect Okra Pre-cook It Before It Goes In Your Gumbo pot

in #food7 years ago

IMAG4430.jpg

IMAG4433.jpg

Most of the time when I mention okra to someone, they wrinkle up their nose and complain about how " slimy" it is. My standard response has always been: " if the okra was " slimy" the cook doesn't know what they're doing".

It's very simple: Put some oil in a pan ( never use cast-iron for this, it will turn your okra black) and add your okra. Begin cooking it over a medium flame, stirring frequently. As the okra heats you will see the "slime" cooking out of it. After a time to keep the process moving, I begin adding chicken stock or water in small amounts. This takes about 30-40 minutes to thoroughly cook the okra. The okra can be used at once or stored in the freezer, i like to make enough for several batches of gumbo at a time.

THX for stopping by & please leave a comment below , I really enjoy discussing food with my fellow Steemians!

7-3's! The Kid

Sort:  

If people knew a bit more about to prepare it, more folks would like it I'm sure.

so wait. You're frying it seems, then adding stock, then reducing the stock. You don't rinse the slime? It just goes away?

Give it a shot, see how it works out. My FB friend Chef Ted Bourque has a video that lays it out. Years back an old friend of mine who's since passed on ( he's the guy I got my first shrimp etouffee recipe from) told me about the same technique. It's not so much " frying" that's a high heat method as it is cooking, remember easy does it. 7-3's! The Kid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63242.16
ETH 3422.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41