TIME SENSITIVE TACOS

in #food6 years ago

I decided to make tacos for dinner tonight and would like to share my process cooking everything. This recipe should be the most expedited way to make tacos since most of the ingredients are either already prepped or take very little time to complete. Disclaimer: I omitted the measurements because I generally don't measure my ingredients when I cook. I just eye everything and I am cooking for four people for this dish and you might be cooking for more or less. Measurements I guess are left to the cook. Here we go:

IMG_3263.jpg

This are all of the ingredients I used in this segment. Please not that I also added cut up lettuce, shredded taco cheese, sour cream, guacamole, and salsa as toppings for these tacos but since I did not have the ingredients on me when I started cooking, I could not take any pictures or show you the process. I eventually went to the store to get those ingredients.

IMG_3265.jpg

I began by draining out the red kidney beans. Two hacks when cooking beans: if you're in a rush and don't have time to soak beans then buy canned beans for convenience. ALSO when rinsing the beans make sure you rinse it to the point where you do not see any bubbles on the top. This will lessen the chances of you getting gassy later on!

IMG_3266.jpg

After I put the beans in a cooking pot and added some salt for seasoning and some water so that the beans did not stick to the bottom of the pan. I let this cook on the stove and moved on to the next step.

IMG_3267.jpg

CORN! Cooking tip: Buying frozen vegetables like corn saves time because they come already washed. Plus, when you buy fresh produce, technically the produce is already losing nutrients by sitting out whereas when it is flash frozen, the nutrients stay trapped in the vegetables! Plus this bag of frozen corn saves me time since I don't have to cut the kernels from the cob.

IMG_3268.jpg

I put the two bags into a pot and added some water water so the kernels would not stick to the bottom of the pot and let it cook on the stove. Moving on:

IMG_3269.jpg

How many feet are in a mile? Five tomatoes(two-eight-O). While everything is cooking on the stove, you can go ahead and dice up your tomatoes. I just grabbed whatever type of tomato I had in the refrigerator.

IMG_3271.jpg

Nice and diced up. I put these right in the fridge until I was ready to eat.

IMG_3272.jpg

This is the best rice for tacos or fajitas in my opinion. It is a very simple rice and already packed with the seasoning so it saves so much time. I just empties two packets of this into a pot and added water.

IMG_3273.jpg

I added about five cups of water for two packages. I placed this one on the stove and took off the pot with beans. By now they should be hot.

IMG_3274.jpg

Now the beans are ready to be smashed up. You can leave your beans whole is you want. I take the extra step to crush the beans up because it adds another texture to the tacos but completely optional.

IMG_3275.jpg

Frijoles!

IMG_3277.jpg

By now the corn is done so I took that off the stove and added some butter to make them more creamy.

IMG_3278.jpg

You can also add pepper to the corn. This adds more seasoning to the dish since you'll be taking bits of each part to make a taco.

IMG_3279.jpg

The last part is putting the tacos into the oven so they toast up!

IMG_3281.jpg

You'll still need to be patient while your rice cooks all the way.

IMG_3280.jpg

Enjoy a beverage while you wait!

I hope you enjoyed this step by step tutorial on quick tacos. It is pretty simple and tasted pretty good. Just make sure you also have some shredded cheese, sour cream, guacamole, salsa and shredded lettuce or any other topping you want for your tacos.

Leave a comment on what you think. Thanks for tuning in and hope you come back for the next recipe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94