You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Foraging, Ethnic Lisu Flavours and Tribal Food Culture

in #food5 years ago

Those are some really beautiful fabrics they produce. I forgot there is small group of Hmong people living next door in French Guiana. I told @Sreypov I hope we can visit them one day, as she speaks Thai, and could likely communicate with them. Unfortunately French Guiana is the EU, so we wouldn't likely get visas to visit.

Sort:  

Lots of crossover between the Hmong and the Lisu people.... both incredible cultures. Generally the Hmong here don't speak Thai, even in Thailand.

My wife has seen videos of Hmong speaking, and even though it's not Thai she can understand a bit of it. I guess some of these communities stay very linguistically isolated. I know many Khmer Surin from Thailand as well. From my understanding they were allowed to keep their language but had to adapt to the Thai alphabet system to represent the Khmer language. I think a few new Thai characters were created to represent a few sounds that don't exist in Thai.

Here in Suriname every language has been creolized, from Dutch to Javanese, English and Hindi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59889.02
ETH 2673.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46