"Koo" Cake

in #food6 years ago (edited)

Koo cake has a couple names such as ang ku, "Koo" or "Ku", turtle cake and thok. This cake comes from Tiongkok and because I was grew up around China town so this cake is special for me. It brings a little excitement about my chilhood. I still remember every Sunday morning I would ask mom some money to buy this cake before I watch my favorite cartoon. My eyes would just go straight to red piles of this turtle shape cakes in the showcase. Oh, I just loved those Sunday mornings!


Yes, it is red like most of China favorite color choice. Now it has been made in various color and shape. Thailand has been popular with this cake in fruit shape lately. This is not Aceh's cake and that's the reason why this one only found in Peunayong, Banda Aceh's China town, which is now even rare. I guess kids nowadays don't love homemade cake. :/



The texture and taste almost like "Thimphan" from Aceh, but the filling is steamed green bean. This cake originally has turtle shield shape but it can be with other simple shape too.


Ingredients:

  • 250 gr glutinous rice flour
  • 150 ml coconut milk (more or less)
  • 1 steamed potato
  • Salt
  • Cooking oil
  • Banana leaf
  • Food grade red color

Instructions:

  1. Mash potato
  2. Prepare the flour
  3. Add potato into flour, pour the coco milk.
  4. Add in salt, beat until dull.
  5. Take the dough and fill with steamed green been (adjust with mold)
  6. Cover the bottom with banana leaf and take out from mold.
  7. Steam
  8. Serve


So, some bite??
Have a good day y'all! :)



Thank you for visiting this blog.

I do appreciate your upvote and resteem as you like.

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-31T21:54:06
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 230.61/400.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.54 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

It looks delicious that I have to try this😊🍪😋

Thankyou..☺️

owww. I really wanted it now, my dear!
It looks very delicious. an excellent photo and presentation. congratulations dear friend!

Thank you. ☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72