How to make a spanish omelette, potato omelette or tortilla de patata. Delicious!!!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

Hola steemians!!

Hoy voy con un post más internacional, así que lo escribiré en inglés. Si alguien lo quiere en español que lo pida y ya veremos jaja

Sooooo…today we are going to learn some basics and tips to make a good spanish omelette or potato omelette (tortilla de patata).

First I would like to say one thing, its very easy to make a tortilla, its quite tricky to make a great tortilla. Expect the first 10 or so to be really shitty, then only shitty, and after a few you will improve your tecnique as you make more. Its all about practice.

Spanish omelette (tortilla de patatas) is a delicius thing when its properly done.
There is a discussion between onion or no onion on it.
For me, no onion spanish omelette is not a spanish omelette...but that is my opinion.
There are as many versions as people doing it, some people put vegetables into it, chorizo, pepper… but for me the original is the best.

Ingredients are very easy to find anywhere in the world. I’ve made it in a few counties while I was couchsurfing and things were allways easy to find.

You have to consider one thing, ingredients quality are going to decide the omelette quality, so the better the ingredients… the yummier the omelette :)

Now, how to make one…

We need Eggs, potatoes, onion salt and oil.

Thats it.

I usually add 3 or 4 potatoes and 6-9 eggs..depending on the size. 1 big onion.

If you have olive oil its always better, becouse it gives a good taste to the final result, but there is no need. I’ve made one in Indonesia with something that looked like motor oil in a plastic bottle, bought in a moto-shop in the middle of the road.. and it was fine!

1st. Cut the potatoes in slices and halfs, not very thick. Check the picture.

_DSC4819.jpg

2nd. Chop one big onion. Make it as big as you like. I like to feel it on the omelette.

3rd. Fill a pan with oil and cook over medium-low heat, smashing a little the mix as it is getting cooked. It is ready when potato is soft and looks like this.

_DSC4826.jpg

4rd. Beat the eggs. Add some salt. Strain onion and potato and mix every thing. Ad some more salt. Be gently becouse it takes it well.

_DSC4827.jpg

_DSC4829.jpg

5th. Now it comes the important part. For me a good torilla is medium cooked, not raw, not overcooked. For this is important to have a good pan, becouse if it sticks, we are going to mess everything.

I did torrilla in reaaally shitty pans, and it sucks. Its almost imposible to have a great one if it sticks, so better to be sure our pan is in good condition.

Just fill the pan with our mix and leave it in low heat for a while, it depends of the thicknes. I like it thick so I have a deep pan.

_DSC4831.jpg

Now take something flat (a plate) and try to flip it without dropping!!! This might be trick the first times. Give it some time.

_DSC4833.jpg

Cook it from the other side and…. Enjoy!!!

_DSC4836.jpg

_DSC4837.jpg

_DSC4839.jpg

_DSC4844.jpg

Sort:  

Espectacular post Jorge! Hay que promocionar la tortilla y lo has hecho perfecto!

Hmmm! I am very hungry now! Great post, thanks for sharing! I will definitely tell my girlfriend to make one tomorrow!!

Perfect! This looks so delicious. I love Spanish food and this is one of the best dishes. Of course, a few slices of jamon Iberico on the side would be nice too!

Of course! A few slices of jamón ibérico on the side would be nice anywhere!! Hehe

Looks great. I have to try this. I like protein based food. :-)

Vaya pintaza esa tortilla!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74