Southern-Style Green Beans || Paired With Ribs

in #food7 years ago

IMG_5004.jpg

It All Starts In The Garden:

This morning I picked fresh garden beans growing in my hügel mound. I planned to cook my personal recipe for southern-style green beans with this harvest of my 2nd bushel. I chose to pair these southern-style green beans with a rack of ribs to make for a divine supper.

IMG_4976.jpg

Southern-Style Green Beans Recipe -

  • Start by cleaning the green beans.
    IMG_4978.jpg
  • Snap the beans in half.
    IMG_4980.jpg
  • Strip one side after snapping in half, and then snap the ends while stripping the other side of the beans.
    IMG_4979.jpg
  • With all of your snapped green beans in the pot fill the water level just above the beans.
  • Add a bit of olive oil (I used cayenne infused olive oil made by a local company).
  • Add in your favorite spices (I personally added cracked pepper, minced garlic, jalapeño pepper powder, and turmeric powder).
  • Add in sliced bacon cut into small strips.
    IMG_4984.jpg
  • This step is not necessary, but I wanted to be a bit more adventurous and I had fresh cayenne & jalapeño peppers from the garden.
    IMG_4993.jpg
  • Bring to a vigorous boil for 1 minute.
    IMG_4988.jpg
  • Then turn down your stove top burner to a little below medium for a slow and low boil for about 30 minutes with frequent stirring.
    IMG_4995.jpg
  • Turn the burner to low and cook for another 15 minutes. You should still see a bit of steam.
    IMG_4998.jpg
  • Turn the burner off and remove the pot from the hot burner to another section of the stove top.
    IMG_5000.jpg

Thanks for your time.....after eating, I would implore you to please try this recipe.

Sort:  

It looks very tasty. Good job.

Thank you for looking through the post.

I thought this day would never come. Thank you for making this post @jonnyrevolution I will be making this dish this week now. I'll let you know how it is

I absolutely enjoyed this meal....and I am appreciative of your suggestion.

Just looking at this makes me hungry. Nice job, like your post!

Congratulations @jonnyrevolution! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59155.91
ETH 2515.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47