You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Restaurants of Acapulco: Burger Queen

in #food7 years ago

As a native Acapulqueño I would be remiss if I didn't recommend Tacos "La Güera" and Chilate; the latter I assume you've heard of.

To the soon-to-be fans of both Tacos "La Güera" and Chilate here's my humble recommendation: You'll find both local delicacies at "Mercado La Progreso" at La Progreso Colony, at Bernal Díaz del Castillo Street; it's a very known place and any decent taxi driver will get you there.

"La Güera", or "Blondie" in english, makes the best beef barbacoa tacos I've ever had here in Acapulco. My recommendation is you get the mixed plate or "plato mixto" along with your steaming-hot consomé along with tortillas and salsa verde. You'll have a choice of either horchata or jamaica to drink... or coke but I don't know why you'd want to get that poison in your system.

About a few meters from the "La Güera" stand you'll find the Chilate stands; there are 2 side by side, either choice is a good choice! Basically, Chilate is a cold cocoa drink; picture hot cocoa but very cold and without any milk or sweeteners and you get delicious Chilate!

There's a funny saying here in Acapulco that Acapulqueños don't have blood running through their veins but Chilate! XD

So, you should definitely check them out! And yes... the salsa verde is hot as hell but hey, you're in Mexico ;)

¡Saludos!

Sort:  

I appreciate this recommendation wholeheartedly. For the record, I have had chilate and while I do like it I generally lean towards horchata. :)

I get the "leans towards horchata" reference given its "sandy" texture but I daresay I wouldn't trade a gallon of horchata for a shot of Chilate! hahaha. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64136.37
ETH 2755.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68