A meal with Lobster & Crocodile

in #food5 years ago

This is a delayed post as the event happened back in December 2018. Destination restaurant is Wan He Lou Singapore. Location can be found here.

We were blessed to be hosted to an award winning signature lobster porridge here. In Singapore there are a few places that serve similar but this particular restaurant could be the best version in my book. As usual, many food bloggers have posted details about this signature dish and I won't repeat it here. I'll include the links to their article below, for your reading pleasure. However, I'm here to share one tip if you decide to try it one day.

The reason I think Wan He Lou's lobster porridge's the better version is the chef discovery in mixing seawater as the 'secret' ingredient and brew a flavorful pot of sweet and salty rice porridge. Location of the seawater, ratio of fresh water or whether the seawater been treated is unknown, but the combination of taste just works.

Coincidentally on that day, they were serving crocodile soup. As the meat of a juvenile 'croc' was seasonal, I was unluckily fortunate to be served a bowl for the very first time. Reluctantly, I had to accept as not to offend my host. Verdict the soup was good and the meat was rather gelatinous. Almost similar to turtle meat in Geylang Lorong 21 - Tan Ser Seng Restaurant.

Now back to my tip. If you want to try the signature lobster porridge, consider to bring a small bottle of brandy (VSOP) or whiskey. Pour and mix into it before serving and I can guarantee taste will be exquisitely unforgettable. I'm salivating even now as I'm typing it out, reminiscing the flavors of a not so distant past.

Here are the links for further reading; Official website, Miss TamChiak and Jaznotabi



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://joebabana.vornix.blog/2019/05/15/a-meal-with-lobster-crocodile/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63665.23
ETH 2621.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77