As The Rainy Season Washes Over The Land - These Fungi Seem To Be Getting Bigger!

in #food6 years ago

As the rain moves across the Cambodian landscape I can see the produce in the markets change. Everything is still available but size, quality, quantity and prices are fluctuating.

When the downpours come the markets become a maze of plastic sheets and curtains of water. I am always smiling at this point.

IMG_4167.JPG

There are some interesting edible fungi here in Cambodia. I am not sure if I am imagining it but they seem to be fleshier now that the rains are here.

With a great taste and a truly fleshy texture the fungi are an excellent alternative to having to eat meat with a meal.

IMG_4168.JPG

In a brief interlude between rain showers I managed to grab these photos of a fungus I purchased at the market before I added it to a soup I was preparing. Notice the amazing gills underneath the fungus!

IMG_4169.JPG

The texture was so satisfying that I am going to buy some more of these fungi. I am wondering if I can make something interesting like a spicy chopped filling for some bell peppers? 😉


Jockey loves you All & Plants as Medicine! 😉
Jockey votes 4: @teamsteem, @ausbitbank
& loves @canadian-coconut, @chron, @mammasitta, @samstonehill, @sift666, @v4vapid


21443250_1519260948137902_1665540863_n.jpg

Sort:  

These look delicious!


Thanks to @katysavage you have been featured in today's edition of The Daily Sneak!

Thank you for your effort to create quality content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48