Bibimbap: My favorite comfort food

in #food6 years ago

I’m not Korean but I super love their food especially Bibimbap. I always look forward to going into a new Korean Restaurant near our place and try their version of Bibimbap.

EFF8E7B7-D3D3-4F6D-862F-6080B088CF17.png

Since I also love to cook, I searched on how to make bibimbap at home and I got so excited because I found out that it is really easy to make. You can actually make different variations of it depends on your liking.

First thing I did after my research is to list down the basic ingredients and what I want to see in my Bowl of Bibimbap. I dragged my husband with me to the nearest Korean Grocery to buy some ready-made sauces but the veggies can actually be bought at local supermarket.

02FFC249-2CC1-4B89-A764-10BD6AADC512.jpeg

Ingredients:
• 4 cups of cooked white rice (mixed with 1/2 tsp salt and 1 1/2 tbsp sesame oil)
• 500 grams of ground beef
• 2 tbsp sesame oil
• 1/4 cup Bulgogi Sauce (see image)
• 1 cup mung bean sprouts, blanched
• 1 medium carrot, julienned
• 1-2 sheets Korean seasoned seaweed, cut into strips
• 2 eggs (scrambled, cooked & cut into strips)
• 2 eggs, fried sunny side-up
• thinly sliced scallions
• 1 tbsp toasted sesame seed
• 3 tbsp Gochujang (Korean red pepper paste)
• 3 tbsp Ssamjang seasoned soybean paste

08C3A95D-8C59-4B22-BE4E-649E7245112C.jpeg

Method:
• Marinate for at least 30 mins the ground beef and Bulgogi Sauce.
• Heat pan and add the sesame oil. Saute marinated ground beef then set aside.
• Put the rice into the bowl topped with ground beef, carrots, mung bean sprouts, scrambled egg, seaweed, Gochujang, Ssamjang and the sunny side-up egg on top. Also put your toasted sesame seeds and scallion. Serve immediately.
• Mix everything well in the bowl and enjoy.

There are other vegetable options that you can put on your Bibimbap like Spinach, Cucumber and Shitake Mushroom. And if you like Kimchi, you may put some on your bowl as well.

Hope you can make your own Bibimbap at home and enjoy it with your family and friends.

Sort:  

Love Korean food too! Can't live without them, especially their ramen!

I love ramen too! 🍜 craving for it right now!

yummy the food looks wonderfulyes_80_anim_gif[1].gif

Congratulations @jmlbacani! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30