The view from my kitchen

in #food6 years ago (edited)

20180910_191522.jpg

One of the biggest challenges I've faced since moving into my car has been figuring out how to prepare food every day.

Wait, hold on a second. You live out of your car?

Yep. Check out my introductory post for a lot more detail on this.

Anyway, so space is extremely limited in the car. Like, extremely extremely limited. But I'm not about to say fuck it to good food, and just start eating out all the time. Not only would that be expensive as shit, but my health would suffer terribly too and that's the last thing I want.

So I invested in a little camping stove, y'know those $20 ones you can find at the hardware store and they take those little butane cans? Yeah one of those, here's a really gay picture of me posing with it by a river.

20180730_160233.jpg

Amazing. I can now cook outdoors in beautiful locations, right? Well kind of, because this is not without its challenges.

Wind.

FUCK YOU WIND IM COOKING HERE!

Jesus christ, if it's windy you can forget that beautiful sea side fry up. This little stoves ability to heat a pan completely takes a shit and dies the moment there's even a hint of a breeze.

Then there's the hobo social anxiety aspect to overcome. People are gonna see you there, cooking your food and you're gonna feel their eyes on you - burning holes straight to the centre of your soul.

But when a good friend of mine said to me "You've gone full hobo", I sent him this photo and replied "I dunno man, I think the hobos are onto something."

20180725_135158.jpg

In regards to what I eat, I guess you could call me a "ketovore", in that I eat mostly meat and if I do mix it up it's always a fight to avoid sugar and go as low carb as possible.

B'yeah, if weather permits it then I enjoy preparing my meals with amazing views like you see in the first picture of this post. That was taken at Glebe in Sydney, overlooking the water and the Anzac bridge. Found an amazing parking spot there and spent the night with my girlfriend, who is a champ and embraces my lifestyle.

One last thing of note, if you're ever going to cook in your car.. for the love of god don't have the air conditioning running while you do. It took me two weeks and 2 cans of air freshener to get that thick meaty smell out

I'll wrap this post up here, and I'll be sure to talk more about nomadic living and my experience with keto and all that good shit in future :)

Sort:  

Beautiful view from your kitchen

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @jimmyblimps! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84