My Second Visit to Texas Chicken Restaurant

in #food7 years ago (edited)

13 Dec 2017.

This was my second visit to Texas Chicken restaurant in 1st Avenue, Penang. I don't always get the chance to visit this particular chain of fast food because there's only 1 outlet from the place where I'm staying, unlike KFC / McD where you can find almost anywhere. Because of that, the place is usually crowded and I don't particularly enjoy crowded areas.

The only reason I visited this place was because I got a "buy 1 free 1 chicken nuggets" offer from Digi rewards. If you are a Digi user, you can download their app here and claim the "buy 1 free 1 chicken nuggets" offer. The offer lasts until 31 Dec 2017.

203706.jpg
Image: Screen shot taken from the Digi app for the offer.

162334.jpg
Image: Screen shot taken from the Digi app after claiming the offer at Texas Chicken restaurant. It will state the offer as "used".

So I placed an order for the Crunchy Jalapeno Burger set together with the buy 1 free 1 chicken nuggets. The set comes with free flow of drink and fries. And frankly speaking, the chicken nuggets looked nothing like the picture shown at all! Damn I should have taken a snapshot of the chicken nuggets and compared it side by side. I totally forgot!

204436.jpg
Image: Crunchy Jalapeno Burger.

The burger itself is quite tall. I had slight issue trying to sink my teeth onto this little behemoth. Taste wise is quite good. Love the spiciness of the Jalapeno Bombers (sliced jalapeno stuffed with cheese, breaded & deep fried) that is sandwiched within the burger.


Image: Jalapeno Bombers. Image source from Texas Chicken website.

I noticed that the fries had a very distinctive V-shaped design. My mom asked me that "Why is the fries so oddly shaped? It's not crinkle cut fries, it's not potato wedges. So why is it shaped like this?". At that point in time, I had no idea why it was V-shaped at all. Not until I noticed an advert on one of the TVs at the counter where they demonstrated that you can scoop up the sauce / dip using the V-shaped fries. Then I understand that the V-shape is actually like a "spoon" to scoop up the sauce / dip! What a smart invention! Too bad I didn't get a picture of the V-shaped fries.

At the culinary section, I noticed that they only had weird looking forks that look like 50% spoon and 50% fork. I was looking for a spoon for the ice cream, but couldn't find any at all. Then it occurred to me that the weird looking contraption is actually a hybrid of spoon and fork. In all honesty, it was my first time seeing such a contraption. Upon googling, I finally came to know that these things are called Spork (combination of the words spoon & fork).

205509.jpg
Image: The "Spork".

Thank you for reading! Please upvote if you enjoyed it! 😁

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jieh to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72