Avocado; the tastiest trend.

in #food7 years ago (edited)

avocado-1851422__480.jpg

Is anyone else obsessed with avocados just as much as I am!? While on my journey to healthier eating, I discovered the beautiful stone fruit and it has been good to me ever since. Avocados contain potassium and healthy fats that are good especially, if you want to gain weight or build muscle. They are also a good source of fiber, which helps you feel full faster and satisfied longer. Now, you guys I know avocados have been around forever, but I come from a Nigerian background and grew up in the country so, they were not exactly on the menu. As I got older I've tried guacamole maybe at a gathering or something like that, but I was still not a fan. It was not until about a year ago when I decided to give them another try. I did a lot of research on the fruit and not only found delicious recipes to make them more appetizing but also discovered amazing qualities you can reap from utilizing them. Avocados are the latest and tastiest trending topic these days so, I decided to share with you all a few of my favorite useful tips/tricks to help you appreciate the Avocado and all of its’ glory.

TOAST
Avocado toast is my go to breakfast item. This recipe is simple and quick. I would eat it everyday if I could and it doesn't hurt that it is packed with lots of nutrition.

2 slices of toasted bread
1/2 avocados
dash of red pepper flakes

phpTlKM81PM.jpg
(photo credit by http://www.mslovejoy.com/post/159120707478 )

SALAD
Avocado cucumber tomato salad is also another simple and easy recipe that will have you feeling refreshed.

4 roma tomatoes, diced
1 english cucumber, diced
2 avocado, diced
salt/pepper to taste
drizzle 2 tablespoons olive oil or vinaigrette

Avocado-Salsa_17394.jpg
(photo credit by http://cookdiary.net/avocado-salsa/ )

SMOOTHIE
Avocados are creamy in texture which makes them a good substitute for dairy. This recipe is a perfect breakfast meal replacement or a healthy sweet snack to fight the bad cravings.

1 frozen banana
1/2 avocado
1/2 cup of almond milk
1 teaspoon of honey or agave

phpegdrCpPM.jpg
(photo credit by http://freepeople.tumblr.com/post/27406468983/avocado-smoothie-recipe )

FACE MASK
You will be surprised what good healthy foods can also do for your skin. This mask is very simple and is perfect for dry skin. The healthy fat helps hydrate the skin leaving it soft and souple.

1 tablespoon of mashed or blended avocado
1 tablespoon of natural honey

*mix well and let the mask set on your face for 15-25mins
Wash off with warm water

phpo3xZiNPM.jpg
(photo credit by http://blog.spaweek.com/2011/05/05/spa-foodie-avocado-honey-hydrating-facial-mask/ )

HAIR MASK
For my curly/coily hair girls this is perfect for you. This recipe deep conditions and moisturizes your beautiful curls.

1 Avocado
3 tablespoon of almond milk
1 Tablespoon of grape seed or olive oil
1 Tablespoon of honey or agave

phpE5HQ1SPM.jpg
(photo credit by http://jassicorn.tumblr.com/post/86034593686/this-is-an-avocado-deep-conditioner-i-made-the )

EXFOLIATOR
The skin/peel of an avocado contains natural oils and is also a great exfoliator.

*Try rubbing it softly against the skin in a circular motion. You can rub the remaining oils into the skin for an overnight face mask or wash off. The choice is yours!

recycle-your-avocado-shells-into-art-crafts-seasonal-holiday-decor.1.jpg
(photo credit by http://www.hometalk.com/post/1217599/media?id=217594 )

Try some of these tips and let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Love avocados! And they are so good for you.

Sad part is that people in Mexico can't afford to use their own harvest. They have to water down their native guacamole.

Hey @mhrose! Glad you love them just as much as me :)
That is very upsetting to know and thanks for sharing. We should all become more consumer conscious.

Congratulations @jenniferrr! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Interesting! Nice! I upvoted you!

PD: join me in this world of steemit looking my posts, rare content about this world, maybe you like it, maybe not, anyways, We can grow up toghether follow me and I follow you ! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65133.17
ETH 3480.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52