Jen's Recipe of The Day - Whole Wheat Venison Spaghetti

in #food6 years ago

venisonspaghetti.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb ground venison
  • 8 oz sliced baby portobello mushrooms
  • 32 oz marinara sauce
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 box whole wheat spaghetti
  • salt
  • pepper

Directions:

  1. Bring large pot of water to a boil. While water is coming up to a boil, put marinara sauce, onions, garlic, and mushrooms in a medium sized pot, cover, and cook over medium low heat.
  2. While water is coming to a boil, brown venison. Season with salt and pepper, to taste. Once meat is brown and no longer pink, drain on paper towels to remove any excess grease. Carefully place the meat in with the sauce and stir, replace cover and let simmer.
  3. Once water comes to a boil, add salt and break spaghetti in half and add to the water. Cook according to package directions.
  4. Drain spaghetti and place on a plate. Top with the venison meat sauce.

Much love,
@jennifer78

Join me and many others on discord for #steemschools where you can earn as you learn how to navigate steemit!

Sort:  

This sounds like a pretty cool recipe. How is the flavor of venison compared to traditional ground beef in spaghetti?

@csy If you cook it right and season it just right, it does not taste gamey at all and is not as fatty. It has a good flavor to it actually but you can tell the difference between beef. It is similar, but only slightly if cooked right. :)

I used to actually marinade the ground beef with A1 sauce to give it a slight spunk. Then I would pour in the tomato sauce and bring it to a boil and let it stew for a bit, making the sauce very, very thick. Not really sure the rest of my family liked it though.

Wonder if I can get venison in Korea. Haven't really seen it around ... ...

@csy Venison, which I'm sure you already know, is just a fancy word for deer meat. During hunting season, we freeze the meat so we can use it during the off season. But it is really good when it is fresh. I have never tried the A1 sauce trick. Maybe I might try that one day to see how it tastes.

Kk Yea. I actually used to live in Tennessee, where some of my friends were big into hunting. They would bring me back some. Always a bigger fan of beef, but once in a while, venison would be really tasty.

@csy That is such a coincidence! I live just north of Tennessee, in Kentucky! Small world! Where in Tennessee did you live if you don't mind me asking?

Nashville. I actually loved living in Nashville. All of the people were super friendly.

Where in KY do you live?

I've been to Nashville. Lovely city. I am not too far away from Lexington. About an hour and a half South.

I have never tried deer meat for spaghetti but I will try to get the wife to make it one night.

Where's mine? Cole called me and said this was good.

This looks really good Jen.

This was really good! Will be even better tomorrow!

@vernonbaker I hope so! Regular spaghetti is usually good the next day, so let's hope this is as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05