Tom Thumb Fried Chicken.

in #food7 years ago

Today I was looking for something interesting to eat for lunch and I decided to stop by Tom Thumb.

They had a sign by the deli stating that you can get an 8 piece mixed Fried Chicken deal for $5.99.

I've always liked the rotisserie chicken from Tom Thumb.

I've never had it fried though so I figured I'd pick up an 8 piece and check it out.

They put it in a simple paper bag which I think is kind of interesting.

You'd think it would get all wet and greasy and have big grease spots all over it but I guess they're making a point.

It isn't all that greasy and there are no grease spots at all.

Let's open the bag and see what it looks like in there.

8 pieces of chicken.

When you get an 8 piece mixed you are really looking for....

2 Wings
2 Thighs
2 Legs
2 Breasts.

I can't begin to count how many 8 piece mixed chicken I've got from the front of Walmart that only had one breast or even no breast in it but instead had a bunch of extra thighs mixed in.

That is really frustrating because the breast is the most expensive and filling part.

A single fried chicken breast from Tom Thumb costs $2.50.

For comparison's sake, a single fried chicken breast from Walmart cost $1.48.

I tend to like Tom Thumb's chicken better but I've never had their Fried Chicken.

That makes this 8 piece mixed Fried Chicken a great deal at $5.99.

How does it taste?

Well I can tell you right away that is definitely crispier and flakier than the chicken from Walmart.

Each piece was crispy, tender, and felt exactly right.

I wasn't feeling particularly hungry so I ate a breast and a wing to try it out.

Wow. That is some good chicken.

Tom Thumb Fried Chicken is really good.

It's cooked perfectly and the taste is subtle and not overly spicy.

This is easily some of the best fried chicken that I've ever had.

If you're used to picking up an 8 piece Fried Chicken from Walmart why not stop by Tom Thumb and compare it?

I think it's great.

Sort:  

It really looks delicious

The crispier the better!

I tend to like the thighs the best. Looks good. Best chicken place other than KFC and Popeyes is the gas station. I love gas station chicken. :)

The only thing you can pick up at the gas station around here is hot dogs. And maybe some pizza I think.

i also want to try this

Kentucky Fried Chicken looks pale to Tom Thumb's chicken :-)

It definitely costs more.

Chicken breast & Potatoes with onions are being cooked right now. :-)

Maybe they air fry it or fry it in coconut oil? Hmmm.

It's possible but it strikes me as somewhat unlikely.

It is looks delicious

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Oct 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $19.41 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Oct 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29