Jack in the Box $5 Meal Steals

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Are they a steal?

I went to Jack In The Box today with $5.41 in my hand to find out.

There was the time not that long ago when $5 would get you a really nice lunch.

Unfortunately the dollar does not go as far as it used to these days.

There are three options to choose from in the $5 Meal Steals.

The Ultimate cheeseburger, the Spicy Chicken Sandwich, and the Sourdough Jack.

These three sandwiches are my probably my top three items on the menu so I have to assume that I'm not going to be disappointed.

I decided to go with the Sourdough Jack.

Each deal comes with a small curly fries and a small drink.

The curly fries actually were pretty small but around here a small drink is what we used to call a medium drink so that's actually just the right size.

From the website:

You claim you’re not hungry, but that’s before you read about a 100% beef patty topped with bacon, tomato, Swiss-style cheese, real mayonnaise, and ketchup—all on toasted sourdough bread. One more time for emphasis. Toasted. Sourdough. Bread. See? Now you’re hungry.

The Sourdough Jack is usually really good and this one was no exception.

Bacon, tomato, swiss cheese, toasted sourdough bread.

Everything tasted fresh and hot.

The meat melted in my mouth, the bread was buttery and tasty, the cheese was fantastic, and the tomato almost seemed like one I would have bought myself from the produce section in grocery store.

The curly fries were just as good as I remember them.

Jack in the Box is one of those places that has a standing drink machine that has seemingly thousands of different drink choices in it.

They have Minute Maid Lime which is my favorite so that's a plus.

I added up a few other items on the menu to see how close they would come to $5 and I found out that with today's prices the $5 meal still really is a steal.

Let's add it up.

Sourdough Jack: $4.69
Small Drink: $1.69
Small Curly Fries: $1.99

Total Cost: $8.37

Now in my opinion, $8.37 sounds like an ridiculous price for a Sourdough Jack, small drink, and small curly fries.

However, $5.41 sounds pretty reasonable especially when compared to the other prices on the menu.

Jack in the Box $5 Meal Steals really can't be beat.

Sort:  

Ill say look for a Chinese buffet around. I have one for lunch or dinner $5.99 which here is $6.35 with tax out the door. All you can eat. Yummy food, great deal.

IMG_20170723_163911.jpg

IMG_20170723_165841.jpg

I love Chinese buffets but most of the ones around here are more like $10. There's one up the road called Flaming Buffet and it is probably the worst food that I've ever had. They mix in pizza with Chinese food and you can even get hamburgers and french fries because they're trying to please everyone but when you please everyone you don't really please anyone.

Like the sourdough bread part. Take your word the rest of the sandwich.

how sleepy did you get after eating all that lol

I only slept for a few hours.

We went to Hardee's tonight and got their $5 meal deal, they have 4 to choose from but my husband and I bought got the Double cheese burger, Spicy Chicken sandwich, fries, a drink and a cookie. My son had the meal that had the same thing but instead of the spicy chicken he had the one with the Jumbo Hot dogs. It was too much food for me, I bought a sandwich home and my cookie too. Speaking of which that cookie sounds good right about now.

I've heard of Hardee's but I've never actually been there. I don't think they have them in Texas. The $5 meal deals that they have....... if they're anything like the picture on the website then they look really amazing.

There use to be one in Wichita, now it has been 20 years since I have been there, but last time I was there they had one.

Hardee's is always an excellent choice! If you're out west and see a Carl's Jr. it's actually the same place. But I honestly think Carls tastes way better...maybe that's an illusion it's probably the same food haha

Yeah I eaten there too. I been lucky enough to travel all over the United States and they are the same and taste the same IMO. It is like Rally's and Checker's same place different name.

thanks for sharing duddy.

I'm just about to eat dinner. Thanks again!

You have a lot of awesome posts, but this is by far one of your best ones man. I needed this one today! Thanks sir

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 21. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.74 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 21 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81