Have you ever had Florida avocados?

in #food7 years ago

They look a lot different than your standard Hass avocado.

Instead of having wrinkley dark green rinds they have very shiny light green rinds.

They are very large.

It's true that you can find both small and large Hass avocados as well, however, the Florida ones are even larger still.

The Florida ones are kind of watery inside.

While they are not terrible, I definitely don't like them nearly as much as Hass avocados.

Florida avocados have a lot less fat.

The thing is.... the Hass avocado tastes really good because of that fat.

I wouldn't be surprised most people didn't even know that there were two different types of avocados.

when people say avocado they're really talking about Hass avocados.

did you tell someone that you were bringing them an avocado and you gave them a Florida avocado I'm sure they would be quite surprised.\

you should try one though.

they're good for putting in salads because they have a nice firm texture however they don't have the creamy essence of a true Hass avocado.

when people ask me what an avocado is like usually tell them it's kind of like a mix between ice cream and butter.

find me used avocado fan and I eat avocados almost everyday.

they're usually inexpensive although they've been kind of pricey lately.

you don't have to cook them or do anything to them all you need is a knife and your mouth.

Florida ones or the same way you could just eat them straight like a regular avocado but you might not enjoy them quite as much because of the lower fat content and the water in this makes them a little bit strange.

still why not give them a try.

Have you ever had Florida avocados?

Sort:  

I have tried avocado but not Florida avocado. Try to find and taste them.

The Florida avocados looks like the same as the ones i ate in Jamaica. They actually go down pretty well with all sorts of bread

Look delicious, nice post @jeezzle

I do not like the Florida avocado. They are far too watery and don't have the flavor of the California Haas. They don't even show up in grocery stores in our area because they simply don't sell.

That's why I probably don't see them where I am.

I would try one if I could find one.

nice post @jeezzle , I love avocados

This post has received a Bellyrub and 10.41 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @jeezzle. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

I don't like the Florida avocado

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29