Have you ever eaten Spam straight out of the can?

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I've eaten Spam quite a few times in my life. I've usually fried it on camping trips in a pan over a fire.

It's a bit salty but it's actually quite a bit like pepperoni if you slice it very thin and fried up or cook it over a hot fire.

I've never seen anyone just open up a can and eat it though.

How gross is that?

I had never seen that until today.

One of my workmates showed up for the night shift with a can of Spam and a cup of ramen noodles

He opened the can of Spam and slid it out of the metal container onto a small ceramic plate.

It did not smell appetizing.

He then went and heated up the cup of noodles.

After that he used a fork to chop up the Spam and put it inside the hot cup of noodles.

The Spam is already cooked so you don't actually need to cook it.

The heat from the water in the cup of noodles will also cook it a little bit more.

The flavor from the water in the noodles will also give the Spam a seasoned taste.

I've eaten Spam a few times in my life.

I never really had much of a choice in the matter though because I was always either very young or very poor in those days.

Would I go out and buy a can of Spam and then eat it right out of the can by mixing it in a cup of ramen noodles?

No I would not.

I guess it takes all types down to make the world go round.

Have you ever eaten Spam straight out of the can?

Sort:  

I only like spam musabi, they prepare it in such a good way. Your coworker is definitely a strange person.

I had never heard of that but it sounds pretty good.

No i Haven't ever eaten Spam straight out of the can...

My uncle loved it and would always fry it up!

I do not really like canned food. @jeezzle

RESTEEMED

Neither do I.

I avoid it as much as I can! I do know someone that would periodically crave spam, never understood it.

It's not too bad when you fry it up and you have nothing else available.

Congratulations @jeezzle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.35
ETH 3436.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55