Are the brownies from the dollar store worth eating?

in #food7 years ago

Money is a little tight right now for just about everyone.

Once in a while you gotta treat yourself though.

For the past couple of days I've really been thinking about having a brownie.

It's almost ridiculous to say that right now I can barely afford to buy a brownie..... times are tough.

However, I was in the dollar store earlier and noticed that they had a box of brownies for $1.

The box looks fairly pleasant.

If anything it looks downright festive and it was fairly heavy.

Mrs. Freshley's Delicious Deals Fudge Brownies.

Now I've had certain products from Mrs. Freshley's before that have made me wonder if perhaps she chose the wrong moniker.

Mrs........ Not so Freshley's? Woah that makes me think of something worse.

I've never had her brownies though and these look really good based on the package.

In my experience judging a book by it's cover is usually a pretty good way to find out if it's good or not.

They claim to be candy topped fudge brownies and there are four individually wrapped bars per box.

The picture on the box shows a bar that is somewhat dark but has a lighter inside with multitude of candies spread on top.

You can see from these pictures that they do not have a multitude of candy on top.

There are maybe four or five crushed and sad looking candies.

Well the picture was a bit deceiving then.

Also despite these very large pictures the actual brownie is really small.

Given that there are only four in this package I am rather surprised because it is probably about the width and length of two of your fingers.

The question then becomes..... does it taste good?

Well I will tell you right now that it's not dark on the outside and light on the inside. It is instead dark all the way through which doesn't sound like a good thing.

However, despite the lack of candy and the color discrepancy these brownies are actually very dense and pretty tasty.

These aren't the best brownies I've ever had. They're not even as good as Hostess brand brownies.

However, if you're at the dollar store and you've only got a dollar to your name and you need some brownies...... these will do the trick.

They might not be delicious but they're not terrible therefore the brownies from the dollar store are worth eating.

Sort:  

I agree. I think they taste pretty good :-)

Considering how they look the taste is actually surprisingly good.

For sure. Had them many times.

Oh my, that brownie is awful looking,.. i'd only maybe try it, but who knows dollar store stuff could be good, haha :p

Now I want something sweet. Lol.... Good post :)

Thank you.

Looking like cosmic brownies from the 90's

I guess brownies are just sugar, flour, oil, and cocoa... Kinda hard to screw that up :P

yea id say the pic was a bit misleading lol

Definitely. I appreciate your comment and upvote.

Yeah maybe right, I agree ma'am

No food ever looks like the picture...

Congratulations @jeezzle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Pretty Good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59605.49
ETH 2607.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42