Are Hungry Man dinners good and filling?

in #food7 years ago

Hungry Man dinners have been out for a long time.

Nowadays when you go to the grocery store you've got quite a selection of TV dinners to choose from.

Marie Callender's, Stouffer's, Banquet, Hungry Man are just a few of these.

I remember when I was a kid we had a choice between Swanson's regular TV dinners in the light blue package and Hungry Man dinners in the dark blue package.

I haven't seen the smaller light blue Swanson dinners in quite some time.

You can still find the Hungry Man dinners just about everywhere though so I went ahead and picked one up today to see if it was as good as I remember it...... or if it was even good at all.

Some of you that read my posts might remember that my oven and stove went out so I have to microwave things or cook them in a toaster oven.

So I decided to go ahead and microwave this TV dinner. There are often complicated instructions such as "cut out the brownie and remove it and then flip up this flap and flip up the other one" but I am a man so I don't want to do all of that.

I just went ahead and microwaved the whole thing for seven minutes and then put a couple of holes in a couple of spots.


Source: Giphy.com

I was pleasantly surprised.

Hungry Man Boneless Fried Chicken Dinner had two big chicken patties over a large amount of mashed potatoes with a side of corn and a small brownie.

Even though I did not follow the directions and I just microwaved it for 7 minutes after poking a couple of random holes it still came out tasting pretty good.

Considering that I paid approximately $3 for this at Walmart I'd say that's a pretty good lunch.

The quality of the chicken was probably not the best but it tasted decent.

The mashed potatoes were about as good as you can expect to get from a box.

The brownie was probably a bit overcooked because I didn't follow directions but it was still entirely edible.

So that leaves the question....

Are Hungry Man dinners good and filling?

Yes.

They're pretty good and definitely filling........not to mention the fact that you can't really beat the price.

Sort:  

Nice read @jeezzle. The TV dinners can be a hit or miss thing depending on the brand and the type of dinner it is. I'm not a big fan of using the microwave as I would prefer the oven or stove top but hey when the situation forces you're hand I guess you have no say in the matter. Thanks for sharing this story with us.

#circleoffriends.

Definitely. Thanks for commenting.

I eat microwaved ready-to-serve dinner's all the time (I like rarely cook). In most cases it fills pretty decently and tastes good as well. Though I am not sure how healthy the food is, seeing as it's microwaved and made for a longer consumption date...

It's probably better to cook once in awhile if you can...... but I think TV dinners are good when you are in a pinch. They're probably just about as good for you as fast food and no better.

Though TV Dinners Have Come a Long Way

They leave a lot to be desired in the healthy food department.

When you say 'good,' you obviously were referring to taste. :) Interesting post. :)

Yes taste. I'm an avid cook however my Oven, stove, washer and dryer all broke so I'm having to deal with things as I can right now.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $9.75 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58661.64
ETH 2723.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32