A Jeezzle Review: Best Thai

in #food7 years ago

Let me tell you right away that the name of this restaurant is complete misnomer.

Unless of course they were really trying to be sarcastic in which case it's right on target.

First off this place is in a nice part of town so you would think it would be a nice place.

It's located between a Barnes and Nobles and one of the nicer Tom Thumb's in the entire Metroplex.

The truth is I really had my heart set on going to Ginger Thai but they apparently close at 3 and reopen at 5 so they're not available for midday snacking.

I will review Ginger Thai in the near future but you can know right away that it's just great.

This place not so much.

The decor was comfortable enough and clean as well but I thought the tables and chairs were awfully close together.

You can't really tell from this picture but there was a guy sitting right behind me.

This little room has virtually no privacy.

We asked for the menu and were promptly brought one.

The first thing you might notice when you look at this menu is that the prices are pretty cheap for a Thai restaurant.

Everything is pretty much $7.99.

Soft drinks are $1.99.

An extra order of rice is $1.50.

Stream rice that is.

Stream vegetable is $2 though.

What are stream rice and stream vegetables?

A bad sign of things to come.

I wanted some standard Curry.

Something like the kind you might find at a Chinese restaurant.

Our waitress unfortunately could not speak any English at all.

Every time I asked her a question she had no idea what I was talking about.

I normally have no problem with people that can't speak English working in America because they have the right to have a job as long as they are here in my opinion.

Everybody's got to get by after all.

She told me Panang curry was probably what I wanted even though she wasn't sure what Curry was, or at least couldn't tell me in English.

Note what it says for Panang curry: Bell pepper, carrot, and baby corn.

I was told it came with chicken and white rice and I imagined bell peppers, carrots, and baby corn with some kind of standard Chinese style curry sauce on a plate with chicken and white rice.

She brought it out and it was a bowl of pink soup.

It tasted absolutely terrible with a hint of coconut.


Source: Giphy.com

I'm not a picky eater at all.

However, I very clearly told her I wanted a Chinese style standard Curry and this is not that.

My intention was to pay for it and simply leave but she told me she would bring me something else as long as I understood it was the last time.

She told me this about 5 times which really got under my skin.

I ordered the Garlic chicken and she told me I won't like it because it's sweet like the Panang curry.

Keep in mind she told me that the Panang curry tasted exactly like standard Chinese Curry.

I said bring me the Garlic chicken but she refused insisting that she won't bring me something sweet.

My intention again was to simply pay and get up and go but I sat down and waited and she brought me the Garlic chicken after 15 minutes or so.

I work in the foodservice industry and I deal with customers all day long.

Normally I would never return food and expect something else but we do it all the time at my restaurant and I really felt like I was misled about what the Panang curry was.

The Garlic chicken was pretty good but there was nothing particularly Thai about it.

The problem is that when she brought out the plate she literally threw it in front of me.

I said "Thank you" and she scoffed.

"Thank You"

Silence.

"Thank You"

She storms off without a word.

At this point I must admit I'm rather irritated.

I could never expect to get away with this level of service at my restaurant.

It's true I returned a dish but nowhere on the menu does it say coconut or soup.

She told me it was like a standard Chinese Curry.

Best Thai has probably got the worst service I have ever encountered in my entire life.

The servers there do not speak English at all.... not even a few sentences.

The menu does not tell you what comes in each item.

They are brash, rude, inconsiderate, and terrible servers.

The vegetables taste like they were frozen and definitely not fresh.

I can say one good thing about it and that is that it is cheap.

Best Thai is not the best name for this place.

Don't. Eat. Here.

Ever.

Sort:  

Wow. I'm guessing they were going for "Steem"(pun intended).

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jeezzle from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Nice place to stay.. Thanks for sharing

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Sep 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.87 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Sep 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39