#WhatsCookingChallenge - SIMPLE & SWEET SALSA STYLE SALAD

in #food6 years ago (edited)

20180401_143554.jpg

I don't mind a traditional green salad, but I cannot say that I am a huge fan - unless it is an exceptionally hot day. Also, I find that they don't really keep well, and the next day the lettuce has made the whole salad all mushy and gross lol! My mom made a variation of a green salad quite often, where she replaced the lettuce with raw cabbage and that I really enjoyed. Although if I were to have a "salad of choice" it would definitely be a salsa style salad!

SIMPLE & SWEET SALSA STYLE SALAD

....

Damn that's a lot of S's.... hahahaha! This salad is truly super simple and is a REALLY good compliment to any plate of food, but especially to spicier mains - which is exactly what I served it with the other day. Essentially all it is a whole lot of ingredients finely chopped... namely:

Tomato
cucumber
Red/yellow bell peppers (I prefer yellow for colour variation)
Onion

toss it all together and then add:

A tablespoon of balsamic vinegar
A tablespoon of chutney or perhaps a sweet chilli sauce if you can't get chutney
Some freshly chopped basil
A sprinkle or two of dried Italian herb mix
A sprinkle of chicken spice
A sprinkle of black pepper

Mix again and you are done!

Voila!

Super complicated I know ;)

......

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE #STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers

Follow our AMAZING community of QUALITY bloggers @steemitbloggers

If you are a PASSIONATE foodie then why not take part
in my ongoing cooking challenge...


This challenge is open to EVERYONE
(Boys and girls, Young and old)
whether you consider yourself a professional,
novice or complete disaster in the kitchen!
You can scout for one of my latest announcements
by searching the "new" feed for the below tag

#whatscookingchallenge

Do you write positive, motivational or inspiring content?
Want it given a little more attention?
Then why not support...

header.jpg

@theluvbug is all about spreading the STEEMIT LOVE
with upvotes and resteems of
INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content.
Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

Sort:  

on a hot day I love to eat salad and a fresh fruit smoothie , make you feel healthy and refreshed

AJ picked your post @jaynie for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Thank you :) Appreciate the support.

This is indeed very simple and fast to prepare. Looking yummy.

This is delicious food, I like your recipe.....

I eat salad everyday it replenishes the electrolyte content of the body and then it keeps cool on a cooker of a day.

Simple and sweet are my favorite kind of recipes! This one looks like a taste treat as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58006.10
ETH 3098.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43