Minty Lamb Knuckle Stew with Sweet Potato, Bell Peppers & Peas

in #food6 years ago

20180308_191307.jpg

In my opinion it takes a LOT to beat a
lamb knuckle stew when the weather is moody...
which it was this last Thursday,
and as my mom was coming over for dinner too..
it was the perfect opportunity to make a nice big pot!

Minty Lamb Knuckle Stew

with Sweet Potato, Bell Peppers & Peas

......

So the first thing I do is fry up some roughly chopped
onion, and red and green bell pepper,
along with some salt, pepper and some garlic.

20180308_144648.jpg

20180308_145217.jpg

Once that has fried for a couple of minutes,
you can add the lamb knuckles and brown them
nicely for about 5 - 7 minutes...

20180308_150413.jpg

While that is busy you can chop up
the fresh mint and rosemary...

Lately, my mint looks like it is on steroids...
Due to our massive drought and water restrictions
here in Cape Town, we are not allowed to water our
gardens with municipal water anymore...

So I have resorted to watering my plants with
my old dish water haha!!
It would appear that the mint REALLY likes it! LOL!

20180308_144009.jpg

ok so...
chop, chop, chop, chop!

20180308_150250.jpg

The meat should be nicely braised by now,
so you can add the chopped herbs

20180308_151711.jpg

Once the herbs are in,
I add a packet of brown onion soup (dry)
a chicken stock cube,
about a tablespoon of Chutney (@rwedegis - see... versatile!! lol)
and then top it up with cold water,
just enough to cover the meat.
(I thicken it later)

20180308_151902.jpg

Give it a good stir and bring it to the boil.
You can leave it boiling for a few min,
then reduce the heat.
and add the sweet potato cubes.

20180308_153621.jpg

Once the boiling has reduced to mild bubbling,
then I thicken the broth.

To do this I am generally lazy lol
and will shake up about two heaped tablespoons
of all purpose flour with about 400ml of water / milk...
If I am feeling indulgent I will add 250ml cream
straight to the pot later for extra creaminess...
but I didn't this time.

As you add the thickener, keep stirring,
you will feel the broth thickening.
Once thickened you can pop the lid back on
and leave it to simmer for, well... as long as need be.
In fact a couple of hours is normally good,
as then the lamb is SUPER tender!

And that's a wrap!

Oh, and I forgot to mention...
I generally add the frozen baby peas
about 20 min before serving,
because I like it when they are only just cooked
and they still POP in your mouth :)

COMPLETE NOMNESS!!!!!!

Bon Appétit

......

20180308_191313.jpg

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

AJ picked your post @jaynie for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Awesome, thanks!! :)

Upvote! I will try this myself. Please check my posts as well! Best wishes from Germany.

Thank you for the support @nils1990 - much appreciated

You sure do love cooking. Eh? So what is next banana bread?

I do indeed @amarbir... and I LOOOOVE Banana bread... so I will definitely do a post on that soon :)

Awesome. Let me know before you go live. I'll make banana bread too that day ( the only thing I know how to cook. Lol. Still not perfected it though ).

In that case lets make it a competition... because I know how much you hate losing and by the sounds of things... this one would be a winner for me... hehehehe :)

Alright. Hahaha.

looks good jaynie! the potatoes do help to thicken the dish. YUM YUM! i nvr try adding mint to lamb an cook it like u did. maybe i should give it a try!

Thanks @asianetwork - let me know how it turns out if you do :) Well, where we are... lamb is often accompanied with a mint sauce as the two flavours really compliment one another, so cooking it with mint works really well too :)

I'm listing a "to-cook-list" so i can have ideas on dishes that i could make. Been very busy with work so i prep my meals ahead. i could really use some variety in my food although i eat mostly greens and less meat =)

That's an awesome idea!!! :) Yeah I should probably eat less meat too considering all the junk they put into it these days... blegh! lol

well, if you know a local farmer that feeds its animals right u won't need to worry =)

The site of this meal is palatable, am salivating already...LOL, the preparation procedure is explicit as a novice can prepare that meal by following your steps judiciously, did i forget to say that the photography is unique as usual..Wish i could have the full pot not even a taste..LOL, hope you had an awesome day???

help vote have me

Thanks for the positive feedback :)

This looks madly delicious, @jaynie !

Thank you :)

Oooooh my ohhhh my......this looks so yummy..... I want 😥

sorry, its ALLLLL GONNE!!!! ;)

Now, I think I'll cry 😢.......really I need foodies around me.
Am just obsessed with good food

Comparto tu obsecion ;P

Not quite sure I got that.

help vote have me

This looks super delicious, @jaynie! And adding sweet potatoes into it, is a really nice touch. Never crossed my mind to add that into a lamb stew dish. Thanks for sharing this! :) xx

Thanks hon. Yeah I use sweet potato because I dont really eat traditional potatoes much anymore... and yes, the sweet potato goes really well with the lamb.

Awesomeeee! :)

Wow! It really looks delicious. 😊
Upvoted and followed! Hope you will also check my post.

All the best... 😊

Many thanks for the support :)

You're most welcome! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60869.98
ETH 2713.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45