Let's settle the SCORE!

in #food5 years ago

let's settle....png

It takes a lot to beat a pork belly roast... I know it is definitely one of my Sunday favourites, especially done over the coals... and the BEST is the de-boned, rolled pork belly - because the meat is rolled so it is probably one of the juiciest, most tender roasts you will ever eat and let's not even start talking about the crackling, because I am already getting hungry haha! But it never ceases to amaze me how few butchers actually know how to score a pork roast properly without desecrating the roast.

This is a roast we bought on Sunday past... and whilst I made the best of it and both the meat and the crackling were spot on, the scoring done was simply atrocious! As you can clearly see...

2.jpg

3.jpg

After having asked the butcher to score the roast for me, when presented with the above, I simply shook my head in dismay. That is not scored... it is CUT, right through in fact lol! I very nearly got slices of pork belly instead of a whole roast lol - But I was so fed up already, that I just took it and left. I do pork roast quite often, and because it is such a delicious looking roast, I always take pics... Ok, thats not the real reason... the reason is because I photograph EVERYTHING! haha - So let's run through this shall we...

This is a CORRECTLY scored pork roast...

4.jpg

This is an INCORRECTLY scored pork roast...

5.jpg

AND ONE MORE TIME NOW.... This is a CORRECTLY scored pork roast...

6.jpg

This is an INCORRECTLY scored pork roast...

7.jpg

Right, I hope everyone has grasped that now :) Scoring a pork roast, means shallow cuts into the fat, which allow the excess fat to drip away so that you have successful crackling. The incisions are NOT supposed to reach the meat. and compliments of recipetips.com, the "general" definition of scoring is as follows: To make shallow cuts in the surface of meat, fish, bread or cakes. The scoring has several purposes, such as decorating the food, tenderizing, to aid in the absorption of flavor when marinating, and to allow fat to drain from meat while cooking. Cakes are scored to indicate where the cake should be cut without actually cutting it. So, now that that is out of the way, I am hungry!

❤❤❤

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx
Jaynielea

FOUNDER OF THE POWERHOUSE CREATIVES

lifestyle & inspirations.png

www.rockyourworld.co.za

text15.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

A community of individuals who are dedicated to producing quality content
which adds value to the Steemit platform and beyond.

text15.png

IF THIS IS TAGGED AS A PHOTOGRAPHY POST, ALL IMAGES ARE MY PROPERTY

Sort:  
Loading...

Thanks for info on the scoring @jaynie. Now I’m going to have to put a pork roast on the grocery list. 😊

hahaha yeah it is not easy to look at a pork roast and not get hungry! lol

Can't argue with that! But I have a question:
I have a nice mangalitsa pork belly in my freezer and I don't know what to do with it. I think it's boneless. I can roll it up, score it (properly now that I know), tie it and roast it like a rump? Oh that does sound juicy and crispy

haha yes you can do that. You can also cook it flat on a bed of juicy apples, onion, garlic and some fresh herbs like thyme etc. obviously the rolled roasts tend to be juicier, but both ways are amazing! If you do roll and string it, then simply coat it in course salt and some olive oil. Nothing else. Let me know how it turns out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56965.36
ETH 2498.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34