Lamb Knuckle Broth with Rice BallssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

12553037_749622435139787_2437967567661423792_n.jpg

There is simply NOTHING better than lamb in my opinion... ESPECIALLY lamb knuckles! (Or more preferably referred to as "sucky bones" by my son lol)

12439216_749622461806451_381063194170820567_n.jpg

I try to limit my carb intake as much as possible these days... because, well - I love them WAYYYYY too much! lol! So instead of making a stew that gets lumped onto a mountain of rice in the usual manner... I thought I would make a lamb knuckle broth with a few rice balls in it. It is equally as satisfying but with about less than half the rice.

12573141_749622658473098_6760430389097152581_n.jpg

I am not sure how many of you have tried to make rice balls before, but without the "trick" they can be quite disastrous and VERY messy lol!

First of all, I use Basmati rice (sticky rice) - for obvious reasons... but attempting to make little balls with this "in hand" is just NOT going to work!

The secret is cling film! Somehow, no matter how many times you place the rice in it, it just does NOT stick to it. It is amazing!

So you place the cling film over your hand and pick up enough rice to make a little ball. then close the film around the rice, wind it around and compress it into a ball. Unwrap the cling film and drop your perfect rice ball onto a plate!

Voila...

12552783_749622548473109_3509895302264125005_n.jpg

Making a "broth" instead of a stew is not complicated... essentially you cook it the same way you would a stew / casserole, just you dont add any thickening agents to it. This particular lamb broth, I cooked with the primary seasoning of lemon thyme and mint. Perhaps an unusual sounding combination but was a magical flavour combination with the lamb. Yes, mint is a common "go to" with lamb - but not so much the combo.

But I like to experiment with flavour combinations :) and if the little man approves... (which he absolutely did!) then I will consider it a success and all is well with the world :)

12644682_749622585139772_2638258311772164199_n.jpg

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

jaynielea footer:

Steemit logo Jaynielea 3.gif

Sort:  

Just stumbled across this post from one of your comments linking here and wow I'm glad I clicked! I'm from Australia and have never seen this dish before but I'd actually really to try making it one day.

I love lamb too and the idea of rice balls sounds very interesting. I'm a fellow foodie too and also love to cook so you've definitely inspired me to try this!!

Keep it up :) Looking forward to more posts.

Thank you for the lovely comment @phamished - I hope that if you do end up making it, that you enjoy it :)

Thanks! If I make it I'll let you know ;) hopefully can find all the ingredients here in Australia!!

I am sure you can :)

Absolutely amazing 😋 followed !!

Yummmi And Cute boy Upvoted @jaynie

hehehe thank you and yes... TOO cute!!! (I anticipate many female problems approaching in the years to come. lol)

Oh my goodness, That broth looks delicious! Never heard of a lamb broth before. Must be really tasty!

It certainly was honey :) Thank you!!! Would love to know if you give it a try some time :)

Yummmmmm yummm fuuuudddd😊💖💖💖

indeeeeeeeeeeeed!!!!!! :D ;)

😊💖💖💖enjoy it it's awesome#!!!

We did!! Thank you so much xxx

I too love lamb looks a nice recipe I will have to try it

Cool tip for the rice balls thanks

a lot less sticky fingers... hehehe - enjoy when you do :) Thanks for the feedback! Always appreciated.

Another good point I always made a mess the few times I tried making rice balls

Thank you - and yes... it most certainly was yummy :)

Ooh, this looks delicious, I'm going to have to try out your recipe! To make the broth, did you brown the pearl onions first with the lamb, then add mint + thyme and allow it to simmer? Are the orange chunks carrots or something else?

That is precisely what I did @runaway-psyche :) and the orange is butternut cubes. :) Hope you enjoy it!

Wonderful, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95