#WhatsCookingChallenge - Baked Creamed Spinach with @fionasfavourites Chilli Jam

in #food6 years ago (edited)

cropped.jpg

For some reason when deciding what sides should accompany our beer chicken for Easter Sunday lunch, I had a massive craving for creamed spinach... but I wanted to do something different with it.

It turned out REALLY well,
(like really, really, really well!) hehe!
so I thought I would share it with my Steemit family :)

Baked Creamed Spinach with @fionasfavourites FAMOUS Chilli Jam

......

I have always loved creamed spinach but have not made it in absolute ages! This time, I decided to do a baked version and to "pimp it up" somewhat...

So first of all, I got the white sauce going, which is really easy to make. In a small pot, I melt approx. a heaped tablespoon of butter. While that is melting, I add some fine black pepper, a chicken stock cube and for this particular version, I added some chopped garlic and about a tablespoon of @fionasfavourites home made sweet chilli jam! (Which is the epitome of deliciousness I tell you!)

20180401_144011.jpg

yes... this is the FAMOUS Chilli Jam
compliments of @fionasfavourites....
International orders available I am certain ;) hehehehe
and TOTALLY worth it I can assure you!!!! hehehe xxx

20180404_183925.jpg

Once all the butter is melted and everything is mixed together nicely, I add about one heaped tablespoon of all purpose flour and then use a whisk to mix it into a paste, then I add the milk, little by little, to thin the paste and get it bubbling nicely. once it is of a smooth consistency, I add the rest of the milk which in total is probably about 600 ml. (I am not a fan of measuring.... can you tell ;) hahahaha)

Bring it to the boil, stirring consistently so that it does not burn at the bottom of the pot.

once it starts to boil, it will thicken and then you can remove it from the heat
and stir in about a handful of grated cheese.
If you want to be really decadent, you can replace the milk with cream.

Once the cheese has melted in the sauce, you can put it one side.

Next up was to saute the spinach in a little butter and olive oil.
Now, you don't want to actually "cook it" but rather just wilt it -
which should take about 5-6 minutes on a high heat.

20180401_145448.jpg

Once that is done,
place the spinach in a baking dish and add the sauce.
Ensuring that it is all thoroughly mixed.

20180401_150346.jpg

Then top it with some grated cheese,
and grill it in the oven
until the cheese is golden brown.

20180401_150509.jpg

20180401_195603.jpg

I have to say that this was without question, the most delicious creamed spinach I have EVER eaten and I will most definitely be making it again! The sweet chilli jam absolutely brought it to life - but there must be so many other avenues to explore if you don't have something like sweet chilli jam at your disposal...

20180401_200325.jpg

And THIS was the absolutely fall off the bone
DIVINE beer chicken which accompanied the creamed spinach!
And then in addition to the baked creamed spinach,
I served a salsa style salad (which I will save for another post),
and a whole roasted butternut.

It was indeed a heavenly meal!

20180401_170724.jpg

......

Until next time...
Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

FOUNDER OF THE #STEEMITBLOGGERS

Steemit Bloggers

Follow our AMAZING community of QUALITY bloggers @steemitbloggers

If you are a PASSIONATE foodie then why not take part
in my ongoing cooking challenge...


This challenge is open to EVERYONE
(Boys and girls, Young and old)
whether you consider yourself a professional,
novice or complete disaster in the kitchen!
You can scout for one of my latest announcements
by searching the "new" feed for the below tag

#whatscookingchallenge

Do you write positive, motivational or inspiring content?
Want it given a little more attention?
Then why not support...

header.jpg

@theluvbug is all about spreading the STEEMIT LOVE
with upvotes and resteems of
INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content.
Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

Sort:  

It looks very yummy for sure :)

It was indeed :) Thanks

Oh, that sounds WONDERFUL! I really like creamed spinach, too, but your twists in the recipe sound amazing! 😋

Thanks @thekittygirl :) Yeah, I quite enjoy experimenting... although it does not ALWAYS turn out successfully, but then again... that's how we learn I guess ;)

AJ picked your post @jaynie for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.
badge.jpeg

Thank you :)

@jaynie that is unbelievable it looks so delicious very nice job 👍🏼

🌸

That looks crazy delicious!

@tripswithtam :) Thanks hon xxx

LOVER of spinach ANYTHING here and this looks like a great addition to a snack day!
And the chili jam? WOW! Looks scrumptious!

Oh good God! Which monarch are you expecting for dinner with that meal. Wow. Now I have to go get some lunch.

Congratulations! You were upvoted to the cryptkeeper17 hybrid auto/manual curation trail! To have all of your posts upvoted like this and take advantage of great curation rewards as well contact me here or on discord cryptkeeper17#6637 anytime!

@cryptkeeper17 - hahahaha!!! That would be my 8 year old little boy actually... commonly known as Little Lord Fauntleroy

HI @jaynie , I didn't even have breakfast but would love to eat this right away.

I would be delighted to become part of #steemitbloggers again. I was not very active in the last weeks due to work but I'm back on track now.

xx
@elenahornfilm

I am drooling over here. Even though I'm stuffed from dinner, these photos and the thought of all of that melted cheese and creamy spinach along with the chicken is just making my mouth water.

hahaha ;) objective achieved :)

Look like very delicious i think its very yummy n good for health @jaynie

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67033.58
ETH 3521.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20