Smoky Kohlrabi Fries with Roasted Garlic Aioli

in #food7 years ago

Kohlrabi is a vegetable that channels its extraterrestrial spirit. It's an alien-like orb with tentacle-like stems and leaves and is one of the weirdest looking garden growths I've ever met.

I started my kohlrabi seeds indoors this year, and out of about a dozen seeds, about 6 made it past the seedling stage and into the ground. Of those six, three were shadowed out of sunlight by the giant carrot tops, leaving three preciously weird kohlrabi for me at harvest time last week.

dJI6A4293.jpg

dJI6A4290.jpg

dJI6A4288.jpg


I've done kohlrabi on the grill in the past, and also made shredded kohlrabi slaw. But this time, kohlrabi fries is where the wind took me.

dJI6A4274.jpg

These kohlrabi fries are dusted with a mixture of smoked paprika, and curry powder, and a bit of flour. I tossed them in olive oil and baked them for about 25 minutes at 350°F.

Regular old ketchup wouldn't be good enough for these homegrown fries. They deserved aioli. Roasted garlic aioli!

dJI6A4277.jpg

So alongside the kohlrabi fries, I wrapped up a bulb of garlic drizzled with olive oil and stuck it in the oven for about 40 minutes until it was fragrant and glorious.

Once the garlic had cooled enough to handle, I made the aioli.

dJI6A4286.jpg


Roasted Garlic Aioli

Ingredients
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 t ground mustard
  • 1 t honey
  • juice of 1/4 lemon
  • 1T apple cider vinegar
  • 6 cloves of garlic, roasted
  • 1/2 c - 2/3 c olive oil
Directions
  • Use a stick blender or regular blender to combine all of the ingredients except the olive oil.
  • Once combined, very slowly drizzle the olive oil in while blending, until the aioli reaches the desired thickness.
  • This recipe makes much more than you'll need for your fries, unless you've got loads of fries.
  • Store it in the fridge once you're done and it'll last up to a week (if you don't finish it before then like we did).

dJI6A4287.jpg


These fries had a bit of smoky flavor from the smoked paprika, and the mellowed out sweet roasted garlic aioli was the perfect compliment to these homegrown kohlrabi fries.

dJI6A4289.jpg

dJI6A4293.jpg


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please do check out my blog.


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on August 14, 2017 with a Canon 7D Mark II.

Sort:  

I have never grown nor deliberately purchased kohlrabi, but I did get it in my CSA last year. I had no idea what to do with it. If it shows up again this year, i'll have to try your recipe. Thanks for a good idea and a great post @jaymorebeet.

Ooh- hope you get some! Let me know how they turn out! Tastes like a cross between cauliflower and cabbage and a carrot kind of!

As weird looking as they are, you dusted them with curry, and that's good enough for me!!! Nice post. Up-voted and re-steemed.

Very good! Thanks @cognoscere! Eat your veggies!

Haha I love your term when you described kohlrabi and I do agree with you :-D I never thought making fries from kohlrabi, that's a great idea. I usually make pickles from it or cook it as veggies stew. I'll give it a try! Upvoted and resteemed! ;-)

Ooh kohlrabi pickles! I like where your head is at!

It looks very tasty! I enjoyed it. Thank you for sharing the recipe, really great post.

Thanks @creativewoman! You could totally do this with sweet potatoes or regular potatoes too, or most veggies!

Wow awesome, I've grown kohlrabi and never would have thought to make these. I'll try it! I would just leave out the egg in the aioli and substitute that with chia seeds...

Yeah great idea! Do give it a try and let me know how it turns out!

It's a shame that i can't find kohlrabi in Mauritius! I used it a lot when i was working outside my country! We can do so many amazing dishes with it, but you just did magic with them @jaymorebeet! And with that Aioli...wow! Yummylicious!
Wonderful photography!
@progressivechef

Oh mann! Another case for DHL! Thanks @progressivechef!

Oooh this looks yummy.... For some odd reason I've never tried kholrabi... I guess I just pass it by in the market without a thought! But these fries and dip look so good I'm definitely getting me some kholrabi! Thank you @jaymorebeet for bringing more nutrition to my life!

Thanks @woman-onthe-wing! Definitely pick a few up next time - you can cook and eat the leaves too, so there's no wasting!

These look so good! Might have to try and grow them too. Miss kohlrabi and parsnip so much here. Thanks for reminding me of this amazing vegs!

I wonder if you could grow parsnips too- I tend to overlook parsnips but you're right that they are really good and deserving of more of my attention now that I think of it!! Thanks girl!

Ohh I love the taste of parsnip. When we lived in Belgium we ate it at least once a week. Only the thought makes my mouth water. One more month and we are going to Europe. Can't wait to stuff myself on fresh berries and parsnips hehe! And of course, buy some seeds.

upvoted&followed :)

Thanks @stachu for stopping by!

Yum! another delicious post! I like growing kohlrabi and have a new recipe for them thanks to @jaymorebeet. The garlic looked really good, I could almost smell it.

Thanks @lifemovedbysteem! How do you usually eat it??

Raw dipped in salad dressing. I like them as a snack on a hot day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61703.75
ETH 2432.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63